Categories
Review

The Ullulators: Dub Royale - Chapter Two

Almost two months ago I did . at The Ullulators: Dub Royale - Chapter One presented. Now lay The Ullulators "Dub Royale - Chapter Two“(The Ullulators self-released) after.
This time it's a selection of just ten titles, some of which have already been modified Dub Royale - Chapter One were represented. So are: Random Particle Dub (Run With The Lion); Mighty steppers Dub (Precious Aythyr); Creation Airwaves Dub; Moonlight Ninja 2 Dub to be rediscovered as alternate versions on Chapter Two. Gavin Griffiths put some energy into the project and recorded the tracks again with different basslines, additional musical style elements, a lot of reverb in the classic style, delays, equalizers, filters and re-amped switching technology. The Ullulators' mastermind has not changed the concept in general. Like its predecessor, the album contains funky, groovy old-schoolDubs that reflect the true spirit of the early '70s and' 80s -Dub reflect. According to Mr. Griffiths, the tracks on Chapter Two are much more "stript to the bone" and less groove-oriented than on Chapter One. In fact, this is clearly noticeable in a direct audio comparison of the two albums. On this album, Gavin Griffiths also did the engineering, mixing, Dubbing and mastering accomplished in personal union. For all die-hard Ullulators fans, the band has a few more Dubs in store that will hopefully be published soon. It would definitely be a wish!
Dub Royale - Chapter Two is available as a download for just £ 1. 100% of the proceeds go to the Trussel Trust in order to actively help the homeless, who are extremely at risk from the Corona crisis, in a variety of ways (food, clothes, accommodation). If that's not a reason!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

2 replies to "The Ullulators: Dub Royale - Chapter Two "

The beauty of DubBlog is also that (almost) nothing is suppressed here. Of course you can't do everything DubReview the work and must concentrate on the essentials.
But the Ullulators are now also an important cornerstone for me DubMusic. I was also fully involved in Chapter Two from the first note. This kind of Dub for me is still the fulfillment of all my music dreams. Here, too, after a short time I had to think of the sound of Dry and Heavy again and anyone who knows me knows that this is a very big compliment for the Ullulators. The fact that after two months I still have this association in my head confirms that my feeling cannot be completely wrong. Everything is just right for me here. Very charming bass lines, beautiful "accentuated", crisp drums, fine, small sound gadgets, percussions and perfect with Dub"seasoned" effects. Not too much and, above all, not too little. As long as there are such Dubs there are always, I have no problem with the mostly "somewhat" monotonous steppers
Dub a la Uk style. When steppers - Dub "Everything rolls flat" psy-Dub plowing the ground every now and then, then they are Dubs in the style of The Ullulators - for me - clearly the real cause of the continental shift. Now I could do anyone here Dub of Chapter One or Two, but as an example of my “thesis” I will mention “Zion Freedom Dub". The most elementary laws of nature are confirmed there. The crowd is sluggish but full of gigantic energy !!! And to move continents you need them Dubs !!!
Geography teachers probably see it differently, but as long as they don't prove me wrong, my theory isn't wrong.

I would have liked to have written a very cool “disc” but again there is probably only dates. In this case, that's really much better than nothing. Nevertheless, in my opinion such Dubs can be bought as a CD and not something like Alpha and Omega. Some of them may want to argue about that, but not with me.

So off to the playlist with it ………………… lemmi

No playlist! Spotify doesn't have any of it!

I always have to go to Bandcamp if I want to hear that. Somehow I get really fed up with the whole thing ...

Greetings ………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

The Ullulators: Dub Royale – Chapter Two

Vor knapp zwei Monaten habe ich hier an der Stelle The Ullulators: Dub Royale – Chapter One vorgestellt. Nun legen The UllulatorsDub Royale – Chapter Two” (The Ullulators self-released) nach.
Dieses Mal ist es eine Auswahl von nur zehn Titeln geworden, wovon einige Tracks bereits in abgewandelter Form auf Dub Royale – Chapter One vertreten waren. So sind: Random Particle Dub (Run With The Lion); Mighty Steppers Dub (Precious Aythyr); Creation Airwaves Dub; Moonlight Ninja 2 Dub als alternative Versions auf Chapter Two wiederzuentdecken. Gavin Griffiths hat noch einmal einige Energie in das Projekt gesteckt und die Tracks erneut mit unterschiedlichen Basslines, zusätzlichen musikalischen Stilelementen, viel Hall im klassischen Stil, Delays, Equalizern, Filtern und Re-Amped-Schalttechnik eingespielt. Am Konzept generell hat das Mastermind der Ullulators nichts groß verändert. Das Album enthält, wie auch sein Vorgänger, funky, groovige Old-School-Dubs, die den wahren Geist des frühen ’70er und ’80er Jahre-Dub widerspiegeln. Laut Herrn Griffiths sind die Tracks auf Chapter Two wesentlich mehr “stript to the bone” und weniger groove-orientiert als bei Chapter One. Tatsächlich ist das auch im direkten Hörvergleich der beiden Alben deutlich wahrzunehmen. Bei diesem Album hat Gavin Griffiths ebenfalls wieder in überzeugender Manier das Engineering, Mixing, Dubbing und Mastering in Personalunion bewerkstelligt. Für alle eingefleischten Ullulators Fans habe die Band noch ein paar Dubs in petto, die hoffentlich auch bald veröffentlicht werden. Zu wünschen wär’s allemal!
Dub Royale – Chapter Two ist für nur £1 als Download zu haben. Der Erlös geht zu 100 % an den Trussel-Trust, um den in der Corona-Krise extrem gefährdeten Obdachlosen auf vielfältige Weise (Essen, Kleider, Unterkunft) aktiv zu helfen. Wenn das kein Grund ist!

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

2 Antworten auf „The Ullulators: Dub Royale – Chapter Two“

Das Schöne am DubBlog ist ja auch, das hier ( so gut wie ) nix unterschlagen wird. Man kann narürlich nicht jedes DubWerk rezensieren und muss sich auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren.
Aber The Ullulators gehören nun auch für mich zu einem wichtigen Eckpfeiler in Sachen DubMusic. Auch bei Chapter Two war ich vom ersten Ton an voll dabei. Diese Art von Dub ist für mich immer noch die Erfüllung all meiner MusikTräume. Auch hier musste ich schon nach kurzer Zeit gleich wieder an den Sound von Dry and Heavy denken und wer mich kennt, weiß, das das ein ganz großes Kompliment für die Ullulators ist. Das ich hier nach zwei Monaten immer noch diese Assoziation im Kopf habe bestätigt mir, das mein Gefühl da nicht so ganz falsch sein kann. Hier stimmt für mich einfach alles. Sehr charmante Basslines, schöne “akzentuierte”, knackige Drums feine, kleine Soundspielereien, Percussions und perfekt mit Dubeffekten “abgeschmeckt”. Nicht zu viel und vor allem nicht zu wenig. Solange es solche Dubs auch immer wieder mal gibt, habe ich kein Problem mit dem zumeist doch “etwas” eintönigen Steppers-
Dub a la Uk-Style. Wenn Steppers – Dub “alles platt walzt” Psy-Dub hin und wieder den Boden umpflügt, dann sind die Dubs im Stil von The Ullulators – für mich – ganz klar die eigentliche Ursache für die Kontinentalveschiebung. Nun könnte ich hier jeden Dub von Chapter One oder Two hinschreiben aber als Beispiel für meine “These” nenne ich mal “Zion Freedom Dub”. Da werden die elementarsten Naturgesetze bestätigt. Die Masse ist träge aber voller gigantischer Energie !!! Und um Kontinente zu verschieben braucht es solche Dubs !!!
Erdkundelehrer sehen das wahrscheinlich anders aber solange sie mir nicht das Gegenteil beweisen, ist meine Theorie nicht falsch.

Sehr geile “Scheibe” hätte ich gern geschrieben aber es gibt wohl wieder nur Daten. Das ist in diesem Fall aber wirklich viel besser als nix. Dennoch müssten meiner Meinung nach solche Dubs als CD kaufbar sein und nicht sowas wie Alpha und Omega. Darüber wollen vielleicht einige streiten aber nicht mit mir.

Also ab in die Playlist damit ………………… lemmi

Von wegen Playlist ! Spotify hat nix davon !

Muss ich wohl immer zu Bandcamp, wenn ich das mal hören möchte. Geht mir irgendwie sehr auf die Nüsse das Ganze …

Greetings ………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.