Categories
Review

Errol Brown: Culture Dub & Medley Dub

"Culture Dub & Medley Dub" are two wanted Dub Albums by Doctor Bird together with an amazing 25 bonuses, some of them extremely raredubs from the estate of the Treasure Isle label were packed onto a DoCD. All tracks were created after Sonia Pottinger bought the business from Duke Reid in 1974. They were mixed by Errol Brown, the Resident Engineer at Treasure Isle, whom Mrs. Pottinger took over. She hired Brown to produce Dubalbums that the duke had refused until then. After the success of the first "Treasure" and "Pleasure" Dub-LPs from Reid's back catalog, Mrs Pottinger wanted an album with versions of her own productions from 1968 to '71. In 1976 the LP “Medley Dub“, An album that - apart from a Japanese CD edition - was difficult to find for a long time. Most of the tracks on it are by the Melodians, including four medleys, two of which were made famous through voicings from Dennis Alcapone. To do this a Dub to Max Romeo's “Let The Power Fall For I”, the confusing “Swing & Dub“Means what was probably just a misprint. Because one Dub for the Melodians hit “Swing & Dime” is also available. The LP also contained Dubs on titles by Errol Dunkley and Ken Boothe. Doctor Bird has enriched the album with 15 rare single B-sides from the late 70s, some of which are characterized by harsh short reverb effects. Including versions of "Lick And Run" by Ruddy Thomas, "Stormy Weather" by Bobby Ellis, and "Wake Up Everybody", a soultune by Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes or Teddy Pendergrass, which OC Roberts covered in 1976 for Sonia Pottinger . Two years later, Errol Brown produced "Harder Than The Rest", the second album by Culture, who split from Joe Gibbs and signed a deal with Virgins sub-label Fontline. For the vocal trio as well as for Brown, the move to Treasure Isle turned out to be a stroke of luck. After completing the LP, he toured with them and began to make a name for himself as dubbender live engineer. Before that, despite the frontline deal, he had one of eight songs on the "Harder Than The Rest" album for Sonia Pottinger's label Dub Mixed LP released with two different covers. Doctor Bird chose the uninspired Jamaican high note variant, although the Afro motif of the English edition - with slaves, warriors and shamans - is one of the most expressive covers of the genre. After all, the drawing of the UK Sky Note label is photographed in the booklet, which is otherwise only partially convincing, as the liner notes offer more adulation than facts with barely legible mini letters. Data on the origins of the bonus tracks would have been more appropriate. Nevertheless, this collection, which comes up with 10 other single B-sides of the group on the second CD in addition to the Culture LP, is a cornucopia with a total of 43 mixes by an exceptional sound engineer who missed the due recognition at Treasure Isle, therefore closed in 1979 Tuff Gong switched and Bob Marley became a live engineer. (The text first appeared in RIDDIM 04/19)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

7 responses to “Errol Brown: Culture Dub & Medley Dub"

Well finally - Dub Evolution to de Foundation! In 2021 what belongs together will come together: my favorite Riddim columnists in a blog - but about time! The new year starts well!

Nice to know it's the dubblog there. Follow him regularly for years! For my part, I am always looking forward to wonderful and undiscovered worlds in the Duborbit and, conveniently, to be able to accompany the reading of the reviews with music thanks to the links!

It is a shame that the albums cannot be found in the stream. Or do you have to look for other titles?

And here, too, I can put on my "sublime grin" with relish. Far from all Dubs that were recorded or produced before the Roots Radics can inspire me. Jamaicans also often had a weaker bassline, so that for me there was no basis for a healthy one DubTo get feeling.
In these Dubs here, I senselessly hesitated a little until I clicked on "BUY". It was only at home that I realized how “abysmal” it was for me to order these “slices” with hesitation. At home, the discs ran up and down a lot, and I especially liked the “Medley Dubs “am excited.
In contrast to René, I think it's good that you can't “stream” this music. No, of course it has to mean that you can not ONLY stream this music, but also buy it properly and (I don't see anything bad about it) also own it. I always like to say: I have this disc / discs! IS MINE !!! I can determine it myself!
Incidentally, Errol Brown was also criminally underestimated by me. I don't know many Dubs from him but the ones I know are top class, regardless of whether they are just "streamed" or in
"Heavy Rotation" !!!

"Don't kill the Lion" …………………… lemmi

Right lemmi !!!

Errol Brown has it all! See or hear also Errol Brown meets BB Seaton “In The Valley Of Dub“! To be found in the “Deep In Dub Playlist ”by gtkriz!

rrrrrrrrrrischisch …………………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Errol Brown: Culture Dub & Medley Dub

“Culture Dub & Medley Dub” sind zwei gesuchte Dub Alben, die von Doctor Bird zusammen mit sagenhaften 25, zum Teil äußerst raren Bonusdubs aus dem Nachlass des Treasure Isle Labels auf eine DoCD gepackt wurden. Alle Tracks entstanden, nachdem Sonia Pottinger im Jahr 1974 den Betrieb von Duke Reid aufgekauft hatte. Gemischt wurden sie von Errol Brown, dem Resident Engineer bei Treasure Isle, den Mrs Pottinger mit übernahm. Sie beauftragte Brown mit der Produktion von Dubalben, was der Duke bis dahin abgelehnt hatte. Nach den Erfolgen der ersten „Treasure“ und „Pleasure“ Dub-LPs aus Reids Backkatalog wollte Mrs Pottinger dann auch ein Album mit Versions ihrer eigenen Produktionen aus den Jahren 1968 bis ’71. So erschien 1976 auf High Note die LP „Medley Dub“, ein Album, das – abgesehen von einer japanischen CD Ausgabe – lange Zeit nur schwer aufzutreiben war. Die meisten der Titel darauf stammen von den Melodians, darunter vier Medleys, von denen zwei durch Voicings von Dennis Alcapone bekannt wurden. Dazu ein Dub zu Max Romeos „Let The Power Fall For I“, der verwirrend „Swing & Dub“ heißt, was vermutlich nur ein Druckfehler war. Denn einen Dub zu dem Melodians Hit „Swing & Dime“ gibt es ebenfalls. Dazu enthielt die LP Dubs zu Titeln von Errol Dunkley und Ken Boothe. Doctor Bird hat das Album angereichert mit 15 seltenen, zum Teil von harschen Kurzhalleffekten geprägten Single-B-Seiten aus den späten 70er Jahren. Darunter Versions zu „Lick And Run“ von Ruddy Thomas, „Stormy Weather“ von Bobby Ellis, und „Wake Up Everybody“, ein Soultune von Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes bzw. Teddy Pendergrass, den O. C. Roberts 1976 für Sonia Pottinger gecovert hat. Zwei Jahre später produzierte Errol Brown „Harder Than The Rest“, das zweite Album von Culture, die sich von Joe Gibbs getrennt und einen Vertrag mit Virgins Sublabel Fontline unterschrieben hatten. Für das Gesangstrio wie auch für Brown erwies sich der Wechsel zu Treasure Isle als Glücksgriff. Nach Fertigstellung der LP ging er mit ihnen auf Tour und begann, sich einen Namen als dubbender Live-Engineer zu machen. Zuvor hatte er, ungeachtet des Frontline Deals, von acht Songs des „Harder Than The Rest“ Albums für Sonia Pottingers Label eine Dub LP gemischt, die mit zwei unterschiedlichen Covern veröffentlicht wurde. Doctor Bird hat die uninspirierte jamaikanische High Note Variante gewählt, obwohl das Afro-Motiv der englischen Ausgabe – mit Sklavinnen, Krieger und Schamane – eines der ausdruckstärksten Cover des Genres darstellt. Immerhin wird die Zeichnung des UK Sky Note Labels im Booklet abgelichtet, das jedoch ansonsten nur bedingt überzeugt, da die Linernotes bei kaum noch lesbaren Minibuchstaben mehr Lobhudelei als Fakten bietet. Daten zu den Ursprüngen der Bonustracks wären eher angebracht gewesen. Dennoch ist diese Kollektion, die auf der zweiten CD neben der Culture LP mit 10 weiteren Single-B-Seiten der Gruppe aufwartet, ein Füllhorn mit insgesamt 43 Mixen eines Ausnahme-Tontechnikers, der bei Treasure Isle die gebührende Anerkennung vermisst hat, deshalb 1979 zu Tuff Gong wechselte und Bob Marleys Live-Engineer wurde. (Der Text erschien zuerst in RIDDIM 04/19)

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

7 Antworten auf „Errol Brown: Culture Dub & Medley Dub“

Na endlich – Dub Evolution to de Foundation ! In 2021 kommt zusammen was zusammen gehört: meine liebsten Riddim Kolumnisten in einem Blog – wurde aber auch Zeit ! Das neue Jahr geht doch gut los !

Schön, zu wissen, dass es den dubblog gibt. Folge ihm regelmäßig seit Jahren! Freue mich meinerseits hier immer wieder auf wunderbare und unentdeckte Welten im Duborbit zu stossen und praktischerweise auch gleich die Lektüre der Rezensionen dank der Links musikalisch untermalen zu können!

Äußerst schade, dass die Alben nicht im Stream zu finden sind. Oder muss man nach anderen Titeln suchen?

Und auch hier, kann ich ganz genüsslich mein “erhabenes Grinsen” aufsetzen. Längst nicht alle Dubs, die vor den Roots Radics eingespielt bzw. produziert wurden, können mich begeistern. Auch Jamaicaner hatten des öftreren mal eine schwächere Bassline, so das für mich schon mal jegliche Grundlage fehlte, um ein gesundes DubFeeling zu bekommen.
Bei diesen Dubs hier, habe ich sinnloser Weise auch ein wenig gezögert, bis ich auf “KAUFEN” geklickt habe. Erst Zuhause ist mir dann klar geworden, wie “abgründig” es von mir war, diese “Scheibe/Scheiben” mit einem Zögern zu bestellen. Zuhause liefen die Scheiben inzwischen oft und gern rauf und runter, wobei ich ganz besonders von den “Medley Dubs” begeistert bin.
Im Gegensatz zu René finde ich es gut , das man diese Musik nicht “streamen” kann. Nein, es muss natürlich heißen, das man diese Musik nicht NUR streamen, sondern auch richtig kaufen und ( ich sehe daran nix schlechtes ) auch besitzen kann. Ich sags immer wieder gerne : Ich habe diese Scheibe/Scheiben !!! IS MEINE !!! Ich kann selbst darüber bestimmen !!!
Errol Brown wurde übrigens auch von mir sträflich unterschätzt. Ich kenne nicht viele Dubs von ihm aber die, die ich kenne sind Spitzenklasse und zwar egal ob nur “gestreamt” oder in
“Heavy Rotation” !!!

“Don´t kill the Lion” …………………… lemmi

Stimmt lemmi !!!

Errol Brown hat es voll drauf ! Siehe bzw. höre auch Errol Brown meets BB Seaton “In The Valley Of Dub” ! Zu finden in der “Deep In Dub Playlist” von gtkriz !

rrrrrrrrrrischtisch …………………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.