Categories
Interview

Interview with Paul Zasky (Dubblestandart)

Your name: Paul Zasky
You live in: Vienna and Los Angeles
Title of your last album: Dubblestandart meets The Firehouse Crew Reggae Classics

Tell me a little about yourself.

I would basically consider myself the driving force behind all of the issues Dubblestandart and soon The New Blade Runners Of Dub describe. BUT, I am nothing without the crew, I use to say. Ali, our man on the trumpet, who is with House Of Riddim, and Robbie Ost are my backbone without them, nothing works. In spite of the difficult existential conditions for a band like ours, they have been keeping my pace for decades. You have to bring that up and I respect and appreciate that very much. That is something that you cannot hold together with money, that is a spirit that is there or not.

At the beginning of the 90s I was part of the original community of musicians here in Vienna, who are interested in sound, post new wave, psychedelic, early electronic music and then soon Dub & Reggae. We had and still have the rehearsal room (it was also our first studio) opposite Flex, the most important club in the Viennese universe for us at the time, where Suga B, Gümix & Sweet Susi Dub and played all of its varieties - from 1990 onwards.

Many people and musicians came and went with us. Most of them had good ideas, but there also had to be someone who would put them into practice and make sure that music was created that could be pressed onto a record. That's why I'm going at some point ...

Robbie was always the man behind the machine and after I had mixed the first couple of albums in the 90s myself (on 4 and 8 tracks), he took over and switched to hi-tech.

I was also always responsible for the contacts to labels, booking, promo, etc. and traveled around the world between Vienna, New York, LA and Kingston. I got to know a lot of people, from which many friendships and collaborations have developed over the years.

In Jamaica in particular, my good friend Devon Denton opened a lot of doors for me, too Sly & Robbie, Ken Boothe, Dillinger, of the company Firehouse crew etc. Nicolai from Echo Beach met us with Ariup, Adrian and the OnU-Sound Posse brought together. David Lynch I just mentioned it after our show at the Elysee Montmartre in Paris at the opening of the exhibition. There are still many examples. I am very grateful to many people.

What is your personal definition of Dub?

Landscape painting with sounds.

What makes a good one Dub out?

To create an atmosphere that inspires, where acoustic fantasy worlds emerge and at the same time special attention was paid to the "distinct" rhythm, its mix and the detailed sound processing.

What aspects of Dub-Music do you find most fascinating?

That it is an open style spectrum and enables a lot.

How do you have your passion for Dub and how did you discover yourself and your music?

When I was around 16 or 17 years old - in the mid 80s - I got myself Taxi gear: “The Sting” and “A Dub Experience ”from Sly & Robbie Bought in the then “Hand In Hand” reggae shop in Vienna. The crew there were Rastas from Kingston and Addis Ababa and a bit cooler and more relaxed than the rest of the city. They also had a lot of specialist knowledge of the productions at the time, sales and the international scene. That fascinated and attracted me. Shortly afterwards "Megaton 1" from Lee Perry. I was fascinated by the pushed bass and drum lines as well as the psychedelic flanger and phaser loops on the sounds of Lee's 8-track productions. Shortly afterwards I have the Singers & Players and Creation rockers discovered on OnU-Sound and that's it. Dub For me it was the logical further development of everything that had interested me musically until then.

How does the creation process of a typical Dub-Tracks from you guys?

Usually some groove or bass line is buzzing around in my head long before we do a session with the band. At some point we go into the studio and build instrumental live sessions on that. Then there are new ideas from the rest of the crew. Then we select the jams and play the best-offs precisely with a click.

The time after that I spend with Robbie in the studio where the actual tracks are created. Often it takes a completely different direction than the session. Every now and then we bring the guys back for single oversdubs or do collaborations with artists. All keyboard parts, analog synth sounds, samples etc. are done exclusively by Robbie and I, as this defines our sound. To that extent is Dubblestandart is a two-step project: Robbie and me and the band are producers who then implement this sound live, but who are also responsible for the original soup in the creation process.

Before there is a mixdown, we work on the sound and arrangement for a long time. Before a final version, we work on the sounds, effects, the actual sound of drums and bass, as well as real and electronic instruments. For me is a Dub not the freestyled live mix of one version. For me is a Dub a complete independent song with voices, sound samples and real world noises, which follows its own structure and dramaturgy. Robbie then often draws from these very concrete soundscapes Dubs for vinyl decoupling, etc.

When are you with one of your produced Dub-Track satisfied?

I produce them Dubs never alone. If we both say it is, then it is. In words not 2 be defined.

What about producing Dub most importantly?

Authenticity. There are no laws in making music. There is just pigeonhole thinking. But music is free and that also applies to ideas. People should trust themselves a lot more. I would like future generations to be more willing to experiment.

What is your particular strength?

I'll stick with it, especially when it gets uncomfortable.

Which album do you think is your best?

"Immigration Dub"," Marijuana Dreams "and"Dub Realistic ".

Can you make a living with music?

No, it never has and probably never will. I keep my feed on the ground. What I earn with music, I reinvest exclusively in productions.

What aspects of your job do you enjoy the most?

Making music is neither a hobby nor a job. At some point you start with it and it becomes the most important thing in your life, around which you build everything: relationship life, family, money business.

What do you dread in the studio?

Time pressure and when there are too many people. It's distracting.

When you're not at Dubs screwing, what is your favorite thing to do then?

I am involved in one or the other cultural project, in autumn I will also start as an actor in a theater production, a little deejaying, and also deal with AI and psychotherapeutic topics. Also started a new band project in LA.

What do you hear besides Dub?

Alternative music, reggae, electronic music, drum 'n' bass, industrial, downtempo, hip-hop, avant-garde, jazz, singer song writer.

If money and time weren't important: Which project would you like to realize?

"Sade in Dub"And" Nine Inch Nails in Dub".

Are there any sound system events that you particularly enjoy attending? Why?

Currently corona-related nada. Otherwise everything that goes with bass music is usually very cool here at Fluc in Vienna! Otherwise: Subaudio, Basstrace, RAW, Donnerdub, Treasure Isle, the legendary Dub Club in Flex back in the day. Truly missed!

Which do you prefer: studio work or sound system performance?

Studio work, then live performance with the band, then Selector at a Sound System. So is the order.

Who is the greatest for you Dub-Artist of all time?

Adrian Sherwood

And who is currently the most interesting Dub-Artist?

Year 9

Which sound system do you like the most?

Jah Shaka and OnU sound system.

What are your personal top 5 Dub-Albums?

Dub Syndicate: "Stoned Immaculate"
Sly & Robbie: "A Dub Experience "
Burning Spear: "Living Dub Vol 1 "
I-Roy: "Dread Baldhead"
Lincoln Sugar Minott: "Ghetto-ology Dubwise "

One reply to "Interview with Paul Zasky (Dubblestandart) "

Sometimes you feel like DubFan really pretty alone in the world.
But interviews like this can refresh my heart and mind just as much
and my joie de vivre in the FYAAAH FEELING, which is well known for reggae friends
kindle again and again.
“Shortly afterwards I discovered Singers & Players and Creation Rockers on OnU-Sound and that was it. Dub was for me the logical further development of everything that had interested me musically until then. "
This sentence could come exactly 1: 1 from me. I don't know why but when I read this sentence I immediately got goosebumps. It's not cold here at all. I just don't know who the Creation Rockers were or are, but I may also know them as Creation Rebel.

Who is the greatest for you Dub-Artist of all time?

Adrian Sherwood

I couldn't have given another answer to that either !!

And even with the top 5, I've already thought about whether I would be the first to name the “Stoned Immaculate” if someone would call me
would have asked for it. But basically I couldn't do a top five Dub Calling albums as my favoriteDubs on all
DubAlbums in the world, are scattered. In addition, I would already be half a second after "Submit comment"
annoy that I didn't add my other top five Dub Called albums.

There is one thing I have subtle contradictions or I didn't understand it correctly. "Think in boxes"!

I could possibly be put in the pigeonhole of the pigeonhole thinker because some Dubtry
going too far or deviating too much from the reggae groove. But then I wouldn't accept that
because taste and feeling have nothing to do with pigeonhole thinking, let alone pigeonhole.

First make middach (someone just got fresh kebab) ………………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Interview

Interview mit Paul Zasky (Dubblestandart)

Dein Name: Paul Zasky
Du lebst in: Wien und Los Angeles
Titel deines letzten Albums: Dubblestandart meets The Firehouse Crew Reggae Classics

Erzähle mal ein wenig von dir.

Ich würde mich grundsätzlich als die treibende Kraft hinter all den Themen Dubblestandart und bald The New Blade Runners Of Dub bezeichnen. ABER, ohne der Crew bin ich nichts, pflege ich zu sagen. Ali, unser Mann am Drum und Herb, der ja bei House Of Riddim ist, und Robbie Ost sind mein Backbone ohne die drei läuft gar nichts. Sie halten mir trotz schwieriger existentieller Bedingungen für eine Band wie der unsrigen seit Jahrzehnten die Stange. Das muss man auch mal bringen und das respektiere und schätze ich sehr. Das ist etwas, das kannst du nicht mit Geld zusammenhalten, das ist ein Spirit, der ist da oder eben nicht.

Ich war Anfang der 90er Teil der Urcommunity von Musikern hier in Wien, die sich für Klang an sich, Post New Wave, Psychedelic, Early Electronic Music und dann bald Dub & Reggae interessiert haben. Wir hatten und haben den Proberaum (er war auch unser erstes Studio) gegenüber vom Flex, den für uns damals wichtigsten Club des Wiener Universums, wo Suga B, Gümix & Sweet Susi Dub und alle dessen Spielarten auflegten – von 1990 onwards.

Viele Leute und Musiker ging bei uns ein und aus. Die meisten hatten gute Ideen, aber es musste auch jemanden geben, der sie in die Tat umsetzte und dafür sorgt, dass Musik entsteht, die sich auf Platte pressen ließ. Darum bin ich dann irgendwann los …

Robbie war dabei immer der Mann am Gerät und nachdem ich die ersten paar Alben in den 90ern ja noch alle selbst gemischt hatte (auf 4 und 8 Spuren), hat er dann übernommen und auf Hi Tech umgestellt.

Ich war außerdem immer für die Kontakte zu Label, Booking, Promo, etc. zuständig und bin in der Welt zwischen Wien, New York, LA und Kingston herum gereist. Dabei habe ich eine Menge Leute kennengelernt, woraus dann über die Jahre viele Freundschaften und Collaborations entstanden sind.

Speziell in Jamaica hat mir mein guter Freund Devon Denton viele Türen geöffnet, zu Sly & Robbie, Ken Boothe, Dillinger, der Firehouse Crew usw. Nicolai von Echo Beach hat uns mit Ariup, Adrian und der OnU-Sound Posse zusammen gebracht. David Lynch hab ich nach unserer Show im Elysee Montmartre in Paris bei seiner Ausstellungseröffnung einfach angesprochen. So gibt es noch viele Beispiele. Ich bin vielen Leuten sehr dankbar.

Wie lautet deine persönliche Definition von Dub?

Landschaftsmalerei mit Klängen.

Was macht einen guten Dub aus?

Eine Atmosphäre zu schaffen die inspiriert, wo akustische Phantasiewelten aufgehen und gleichzeitig auf den „distinct“ Rhythm, seinen Mix und die detaillierte klangliche Bearbeitung besonderes Augenmerk gelegt wurde.

Welche Aspekte von Dub-Music faszinieren dich am meisten?

Dass es ein offenes Stilspektrum ist und sehr viel ermöglicht.

Wie hast du deine Leidenschaft für Dub entdeckt und wie hast du dich und deine Musik seid dem entwickelt?

Als ich ca. 16 oder 17 Jahre alt war – Mitte der 80er Jahre – hab ich mir Taxi Gang: “The Sting” und “A Dub Experience” von Sly & Robbie im damaligen “Hand In Hand”-Reggae-Laden in Wien gekauft. Die Crew dort waren Rastas aus Kingston und Addis Abeba und ein Quäntchen cooler und relaxter als der Rest der Stadt. Zudem hatten sie viel Fachwissen hinsichtlich der damaligen Produktionen, dem Vertrieb und der internationalen Szene. Das hat mich fasziniert und angezogen. Kurz darauf “Megaton 1” von Lee Perry. Mich haben die nach vorn geschobenen Bass- & Drum-Linien, sowie die psychedelischen Flanger- und Phaserloops auf den Sounds von Lees 8-Spur-Produktionen fasziniert. Kurz darauf habe ich dann die Singers & Players und Creation Rockers auf OnU-Sound entdeckt und das wars dann. Dub war für mich die logische Weiterentwicklung von allem was mich bis dahin musikalisch interessiert hatte.

Wie sieht der Entstehungsprozess eines typischen Dub-Tracks von euch aus?

Meist schwirrt irgend ein Groove oder Basslinie in meinem Kopf herum, lange bevor wir eine Session mit der Band machen. Irgendwann gehen wir dann ins Studio und bauen darauf Instrumental-Livesessions auf. Da kommen dann nochmal Ideen vom Rest der Crew. Dann selektieren wir die Jams aus und spielen die Best-Offs präzise mit Klick ein.

Die Zeit danach verbringe ich mit Robbie im Studio wo die tatsächlichen Tracks entstehen. Oft nimmt das eine ganz andere Richtung als bei der Session. Ab und an holen wir die Jungs retour für einzelne Overdubs oder machen Collaborations mit Artists. Alle Keyboardparts, Analogsynthsounds, Samples etc. machen ausschließlich Robbie und ich, da das unseren Sound definiert. Insofern ist Dubblestandart ein Zwei-Stufen Projekt: Es gibt die Produzententätigkeit von Robbie und mir und die Band, die diesen Sound dann live umsetzt, aber im Entstehungsprozess eben auch für die Ursuppe verantwortlich ist.

Bevor es zu einem Mixdown kommt schrauben wir lange an Klang und Arrangement.Vor einer finalen Version wird an Sounds, Effekten, am eigentlichen Klang von Schlagzeug und Bass sowie echten und elektronischen Instrumenten getüftelt. Für mich ist ein Dub nicht der freegestylte Livemix einer Version. Für mich ist ein Dub ein kompletter eigenständiger Song mit Stimmen, Soundsamples und Realworld-Geräuschen, der einer eigenen Struktur und Dramaturgie folgt. Robbie zieht dann von diesen sehr konkreten Klangwelten oft noch Dubs für Vinylauskoppelungen, etc.

Wann bist du mit einem von dir produzierten Dub-Track zufrieden?

Ich produziere die Dubs nie alleine. Wenn wir beide sagen, das isses, dann isses das. In words not 2 be defined.

Was ist beim Produzieren von Dub am wichtigsten?

Authentizität. Es gibt beim Musikmachen keine Gesetze. Es gibt halt Schubladendenken. Musik ist aber frei und das gilt auch für die Ideen. Die Leute sollten sich wesentlich mehr trauen. Ich würde mir von den nachfolgenden Generationen mehr Experimentierfreudigkeit wünschen.

Was ist deine besondere Stärke?

Ich bleib dran, vor allem wenn’s ungemütlich wird.

Welches Album hältst du für euer bestes?

“Immigration Dub”, “Marijuana Dreams” und “Dub Realistic”.

Gelingt es dir, mit Musik deinen Lebensunterhalt zu bestreiten?

Nein, hat es nie und wird es wohl auch nie. I keep my feed on the ground. Das was ich mit Musik verdiene, investiere ich ausschließlich wieder in Produktionen.

Welche Aspekte deines Jobs machen dir am meisten Spaß?

Musikmachen ist weder Hobby noch Job. Irgendwann fängst du damit an und es wird zur wichtigsten Sache in deinem Leben, um die herum du alles baust: Beziehungsleben, Familie, Moneybusiness.

Wovor graust es dir im Studio?

Zeitdruck und wenn zu viele Leute da sind. Das lenkt ab.

Wenn du gerade nicht an Dubs schraubst, was machst du dann am liebsten?

Ich bin in dem einen oder anderen Kulturprojekt involviert, fange im Herbst auch als Schauspieler in einer Theaterprodutkion an, bisschen Deejaying, setze mich zudem mit AI und psychotherapeutischen Themen auseinander. Habe außerdem in LA ein neues Bandprojekt begonnen.

Was hörst du außer Dub?

Alternative Music, Reggae, Electronic Music, Drum ‘n’ Bass, Industrial, Downtempo, HipHop, Avantgarde, Jazz, Singer Song Writer.

Wenn Geld und Zeit keine Rolle spielten: Welches Projekt würdest du gerne verwirklichen?

“Sade in Dub” und “Nine Inch Nails in Dub”.

Gibt es Sound System-Events, die du besonders gerne besuchst? Warum?

Aktuell Corona-bedingt nada. Ansonsten ist alles, was Bassmusik angeht hier im Fluc in Wien meistens sehr cool!! Ansonsten: Subaudio.Basstrace, RAW, Donnerdub, Treasure Isle, der legendäre Dub Club im Flex back in the day. Truly missed!

Was bevorzugst du: Studioarbeit oder Sound System-Performance?

Studioarbeit, dann Live-Performance mit der Band, dann Selector at a Sound System. So ist die Reihenfolge.

Wer ist für dich der größte Dub-Artist aller Zeiten?

Adrian Sherwood

Und wer der aktuell interessanteste Dub-Artist?

Jah 9

Welches Sound System schätzt du am meisten?

Jah Shaka und OnU-Soundsystem.

Was sind deine persönlichen Top 5 Dub-Alben?

Dub Syndicate: “Stoned Immaculate”
Sly & Robbie: “A Dub Experience”
Burning Spear: “Living Dub Vol 1”
I- Roy: “Dread Baldhead”
Lincoln Sugar Minott: “Ghetto-ology Dubwise”

Eine Antwort auf „Interview mit Paul Zasky (Dubblestandart)“

Manchmal fühlt man sich als DubFan ja echt ziemlich allein auf der Welt.
Aber solche Interviews können mein Herz und mein Gemüt nahezu genauso erfrischen
und meine Lebensfreude, in das für ReggaeFreunde, gut bekannte FYAAAH FEELING
immer wieder aufs Neue entfachen.
“Kurz darauf habe ich dann die Singers & Players und Creation Rockers auf OnU-Sound entdeckt und das wars dann. Dub war für mich die logische Weiterentwicklung von allem was mich bis dahin musikalisch interessiert hatte.”
Dieser satz könnte ja 1:1 genau so von mir stammen. Keine Ahnung warum aber als ich diesen Satz gelesen habe, bekam ich sofort eine Gänsehaut. Dabei isses hier gerade überhaupt nicht kalt. Ich weiß nur nicht, wer die Creation Rockers waren oder sind aber eventuell kenne ich die auch als Creation Rebel.

Wer ist für dich der größte Dub-Artist aller Zeiten?

Adrian Sherwood

Auch darauf hätte ich keine andere Antwort geben können !!!!

Und auch bei den Top 5 habe ich schon überlegt, ob ich die “Stoned Immaculate” als erstes nennen würde, wenn mich jemand
danach gefragt hätte. Aber im Grunde könnte ich gar keine Top Five Dub Alben nennen, da sich meine LieblingsDubs auf allen
DubAlben der Welt, verstreut befinden. Außerdem würde ich mich schon eine halbe Sekunde nach “Kommentar absenden”
ärgern, das ich nicht meine anderen Top Five Dub Alben genannt habe.

In einer Sache habe ich dezente Widerworte oder ich habe es nicht richtig verstanden. “Schubladendenken” !

Ich könnte ja eventuell in die Schublade der Schubladendenker gesteckt werden, weil mir einige Dubexperimente
zu weit gehen oder doch zu sehr vom Reggaegroove abweichen. Das würde ich aber dann nicht akzeptieren,
weil Geschmack und Feeling nix mit Schubladendenken, geschweige denn mit Schubladen zu ntun haben.

Erst mal Middach machen ( da hat einer gerade frische Döner geholt ) ………………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.