Categories
Review

Papa Dee: Sir Pinkerton Investigates Another Murder in Red Hut Studio

Ah ... wonderful! Again one Dub-Counterpart to a vocal release - as it should be, I mean. One thing depends on the other and in general: One foot can't run. So I present ""Sir Pinkerton Investigates Another Murder in Red Hut Studio“(Red Hut Studios) - that Dub-Album for Papa Dee's last year, rather simply named "The Red Hut Sessions" release. The anticipation was great on my part, there was already a very nice vocal from Papa Dee /Dub-Combination that has a somewhat weird appearance history, but was convincing across the board: "Papa Dee meets the Jamaican Giants"And"Papa Dee Meets the Jamaican Giants vs. Internal Dread: In Dub".

With the “Jamaican Giants” it didn't work out this time; "Sir Pinkerton" is more Swedish than Swedish (like Wasa crispbread, I would almost like to say, but the Barilla pasta cookers have long since incorporated that). To explain: Papa Dee is Swede, the musicians are Swedes; Studio, recording, mixing, mastering: everything in Sweden, through Sweden & from Sweden. What can I say: Europe rules, at least what classic (roots) reggae and Dub concerns. They have been made here very well for some time, with attention to detail and with a lot of respect for the greats. No wonder that to us some European production sounds more Jamaican than the output there.

Back to Papa Dee and his Dub-Release: The big, not entirely unreasonable topic, which has been dealt with several times in variations, is murder cases in which the famous "Pinkerton National Detective Angency" conducts investigations - by the founder, Sir Pinkerton himself. What does that have to do with the music? Nothing; Titles like “Serial Killing” or “Pure Murder” Dub“Are somehow to be understood as borrowing from Jamaican role models. 

In the end, one can say a lot of good things about "Sir Pinkerton investigates ..." (the length of the album title is really bad for marketing): Beautiful, hand-made riddims, a fine sound and a successful, classic one Dub-Mix that gives the echo loop a lot of time - King Tubby sends his regards! The only disturbing thing is the rock steady (or is it Ska?) Track, which is more or less due to a personal dislike. Out with the part from the playlist and everything is good & recommendable again.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

8 replies to "Papa Dee: Sir Pinkerton Investigates Another Murder in Red Hut Studio"

"Yes, Borussia Bernie here" ...... oh no, it's just me, the lemmi.

Well, I'm really very simple. Just recently I wrote, “I'm sure that I will soon be able to write about very good riddims again.” And it was also clear to me that it would not be long in coming.
My first listening experience with this "disc" was completely impartial. I came back to my office and here - as almost always - the “Deep In Dub Extended Version ".
It was the moment when the “Feedback Stabber Dub“I ran and at that point I got the feeling as if you finally came to a really nice, warm ski hut without skis, just hiking through the snow and tired of it for a while. The smell of homemade goulash soup fills your nose and the cozy warmth spreads slowly but steadily throughout your body. A place for which there could be no better substitute at this moment, except perhaps in the womb of one's own mother.
Yes …. and then, of course, I had to scroll the beautiful "disc" back to the beginning. Everything I heard immediately sent me on a dream vacation. It is really an advantage that I am so simple. Give me those riddims with these amazing basslines and you can do that Dub in principle almost leave out ……………
Oops ... .. did I actually just write that?!? I have to go to bed again. Well, I just wanted to make it clear how these riddims hit me. But also in terms of things DubAtmosphere and the associated technical gimmicks, this disc is just right for me.
I found the "story" with the "Giants" really great, but I have to say this one Dubs here - for my taste - tingling a little more in my navel. Somehow they don't sound as good as the "Giants". There's a lot more going on here for me. And since I also appreciate the SkaRythmus very much (or was it "fast" RockSteady after all?), I am also very satisfied with it. I have to pay a big compliment to the Swedes because they play these Jamaican riddims as if they were born on the island themselves. These riddims have a charm that was only found in Jamaica. And I am hopefully at the mercy of this charm. And if anything is good at all, it's that.

I very much hope, no matter how weird the history of the publication may be, that I will find these "investigative MurderStories" in both the vocal and the DubVariant, soon or at least sometime, also at home in a solid form, can add to my treasures.

"Secret Laboratory, Scientific Dancehall" …………………………………… lemmi

Gulash soup? Apple strudel!!!

I have the "Jamaican Giants" vocal /Dub-Combi in front, because
1) two of my all-time favorite tunes * - Gregory Isaacs' "If I don't have you" and Dub Syndicate's “One in a Billion”) are covered pretty well by dad
2) the Dub Mix of Internal Dread imo is more exciting

In terms of sound, Sir Pinkerton clearly has the edge ... there are +/- 10 years between the recordings.

* It could well be that I don't have my absolute favorite tunes anymore ...

That's right gtkriz!

The cover version of “One In A Billion” turned out really well.
With such an original version as from DubBut Syndicate has to give everything to avoid spanking it. Papa Dee's version is (I have a knot in my throat right now because it's so difficult for me to do it) maybe even a little more sympathetic because Papa Dee can sing better than Capleton, I think. The sentence was really difficult for me now, but it's okay.

"Work It" ………………………. lemmi

Luciano, lemmi.
Luciano sings “One in a Billion” on “Acres of Space”, Capleton does the track “Time” on it.
Imo Papa Dee sticks very closely to Luciano's version (see / hear beginning of "Bless us, Bless us Negus ...")

Reply

Color vinyl copies of the Sir Pinkerton (ltd. 250 copies vinyl LP only press) just landed here @ IRIE RECORDS eK
As with the other Papa Dee full length LP releases it is distributed via http://www.irie-records.com outside of Sweden

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Papa Dee: Sir Pinkerton Investigates Another Murder in Red Hut Studio

Ah… wunderbar! Wieder ein Dub-Counterpart zu einem Vocal-Release – wie sich’s gehört, meine ich. Eines bedingt das andere und überhaupt: One foot can’t run. Ich präsentiere also „“Sir Pinkerton Investigates Another Murder in Red Hut Studio“ (Red Hut Studios) – das Dub-Album zu Papa Dee’s vorjährigem, eher schlicht benannten „The Red Hut Sessions“-Release. Die Vorfreude darauf war meinerseits groß, gab es doch schon einmal von Papa Dee eine sehr schöne Vocal/Dub-Kombination, die zwar eine etwas schräge Erscheinungshistorie hat, aber auf ganzer Linie überzeugte: „Papa Dee Meets the Jamaican Giants“ und „Papa Dee Meets the Jamaican Giants vs. Internal Dread: In Dub“.

Mit den „Jamaican Giants“ ist es diesmal nichts geworden; „Sir Pinkerton“ ist schwedischer als schwedisch (wie Wasa Knäckebrot möchte ich fast sagen, aber das haben sich längst schon die Barilla-Nudelkocher einverleibt). Zur Erklärung: Papa Dee ist Schwede, die Musiker sind Schweden; Studio, Aufnahme, Mix, Mastering: alles in Schweden, durch Schweden & von Schweden. Was soll ich sagen: Europe rules, zumindest was klassischen (Roots-)Reggae und Dub betrifft. Die werden hier seit geraumer Zeit sehr gut, mit Liebe zum Detail und mit viel Respekt vor den ganz Großen gemacht. Kein Wunder, dass für uns so manche europäische Produktion jamaikanischer als der dortige Output klingt.

Zurück zu Papa Dee und seinem Dub-Release: Das große, nicht ganz unwitzige, in Variationen schon öfter untergekommene Thema sind hier Mordfälle, in denen die berühmte „Pinkerton National Detective Angency“ Ermittlungen durchführt – und zwar durch Begründer Sir Pinkerton höchstpersönlich. Was das mit der Musik zu tun hat? Rein gar nichts; Titel wie „Serial Killing“ oder „Pure Murder Dub“ sind wohl irgendwie auch als Anleihe an jamaikanische Vorbilder zu verstehen. 

Schlußendlich kann man über „Sir Pinkerton investigates…“ (die Albumtitel-Länge ist wirklich Marketing-feindlich) viel Gutes sagen: Schöne, handgeklöppelte Riddims, feiner Klang und ein gelungener, klassischer Dub-Mix, der der Echo-Schleife durchaus schon mal ordentlich Zeit einräumt – King Tubby lässt grüßen! Einzig störend der eine Rocksteady- (oder doch Ska?) Track, was allerdings mehr oder weniger einer persönlichen Abneigung geschuldet ist. Raus mit dem Teil aus der Playlist und alles ist wieder gut & empfehlenswert.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

7 Antworten auf „Papa Dee: Sir Pinkerton Investigates Another Murder in Red Hut Studio“

„Ja, Borussen Bernie hier“ …… ach nee, ich bins nur, der lemmi.

Also ich bin echt ganz einfach gestrickt. Erst neulich schrieb ich noch, „ich bin mir sicher, das ich bald auch wieder über sehr gute Riddims schreiben darf.“ Und mir war auch klar, das das nicht lange auf sich warten lässt.
Mein erstes Hörerlebnis mit dieser „Scheibe“, war vollkommen unvoreingenommen. Ich kam mal wieder in mein Büro und hier lief – wie fast immer – die „Deep In Dub Extended Version“.
Es war grad der Moment, wo der „Feedback Stabber Dub“ lief und ich punktum so ein Gefühl bekam, als ob man ohne Skier, lediglich durch den Schnee wandernd und dessen schon eine Weile überdrüssig, endlich in eine richtig schöne warme Skihütte kommt. Der Duft von hausgemachter Gulaschsuppe steigt einem in die Nase und die wohlige Wärme breitet sich langsam aber stetig im ganzen Körper aus. Ein Ort, für den es in diesem Moment keinen besseren Ersatz geben könnte außer vielleicht im Leib der eigenen Mutter.
Ja …. und darauf hin, musste ich die schöne „Scheibe“ natürlich nochmal auf Anfang scrollen. Alles, was ich zu hören bekam, hat mich sofort in den TraumUrlaub geschickt. Da ist es wirklich ein Vorteil, das ich so einfach gestrickt bin. Gib mir solche Riddims mit diesen fantastischen Basslines und du kannst den Dub im Prinzip schon fast weglassen ……………
Upps ….. hab ich das grad echt geschrieben ?!? Ich muss wohl nochmal ins Bett. Naja, ich wollte ja nur halbwags klar machen, wie diese Riddims bei mir reinhauen. Aber auch in Sachen DubAtmosphäre und den damit verbundenen technischen Spielereien, ist diese Scheibe genau richtig für mich.
Die „Geschichte“ mit den „Giants“ fand ich schon richtig klasse aber ich muss sagen, das diese Dubs hier doch – für meinen Geschmack – etwas mehr in meinem Bauchnabel prickeln. Irgendwie klingen die nicht so brav, wie bei den „Giants“. Hier is für mich eine ganze Menge mehr los. Und da ich den SkaRythmus ebenfalls sehr schätze ( oder war es doch „schnelles“ RockSteady ? ), bin ich auch damit sehr zufrieden. Den Schweden muss ich ein großes Kompliment machen, denn sie spielen diese jamaicanischen Riddims so, als ob sie selbst auf der Insel geboren wurden. Diese Riddims haben einen Charme, den es so nur auf Jamaica gab. Und diesem Charme bin ich hoffnungsvoll ausgeliefert. Und wenn überhaupt irgendwas gut ist, dann das.

Ich hoffe sehr, egal wie schräg die Erscheinungshistorie auch sein wird, das ich diese „investigativen MurderStories“ sowohl in der Vocal – als auch in der DubVariante, bald oder wenigstens irgendwann, auch Zuhause in fester Form, zu meinen Schätzen hinzufügen kann.

„Secret Laboratory, Scientific Dancehall“ …………………………………… lemmi

Gulaschsuppe? Apfelstrudel!!!

Bei mir liegt die „Jamaican Giants“ Vocal/Dub-Kombi vorn, weil
1) zwei meiner absoluten Lieblingstunes* – Gregory Isaacs‘ „If I don’t have you“ und Dub Syndicate’s „One in a Billion“) vom Papa ziemlich gut gecovert werden
2) der Dub Mix von Internal Dread imo spannender ist

Vom Sound her hat eindeutig Sir Pinkerton die Nase vorn… es liegen halt doch +/- 10 Jahre zwischen den Aufnahmen.

*Könnt‘ gut sein dass ich gar nicht mehr absolute Lieblingstunes habe…

Das stimmt gtkriz !

Die Coverversion von „One In A Billion“ ist richtig gut geworden.
Bei so einer OriginalVersion wie vom DubSyndicate muss man aber auch alles geben, um das nicht zu verhauen. Die Version von Papa Dee ist ( ich habe gerade einen Knoten im Hals, weil mir das so schwer von der hand geht ) eventuell sogar noch ein wenig sympathischer, weil Papa Dee im Vergleich zu Capleton doch besser singen kann, wie ich meine. Der Satz war jetzt echt schwer für mich aber geht schon in Ordnung.

„Work It“ ………………………. lemmi

Luciano, lemmi.
Luciano singt „One in a Billion“ auf „Acres of Space“, Capleton macht darauf den Track „Time“.
Papa Dee hält sich imo sehr an die Version von Luciano (siehe/höre Anfang „Bless us, Bless us Negus…“)

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.