Categories
Review

R-Juna: Dubs and praises

What inspires me again and again is that the small sub-genre Dub draws a lot of people worldwide under its spell and always bears new, interesting fruit. The Cypriot DubAt the end of November, ophonic Records released a new album by an American producer and DJ that I hadn't even known before: R-Juna "Dubs and praises“ (Dubophonic Records). Roy Waterford aka R-Juna can look back on 10 years of experience in the music business, has produced and released several albums of various genres, but prefers hip-hop.
R-Juna, from Bloomington, Indiana, claims to be returning to his own Dub-Reggae roots back and now published at Dubophonic Records his first album. "Dubs and Praises “consists (unfortunately) of only seven instrumental tracks, which fully convince me with really rich bass lines, melodic riffs, occasional horn section fragments and plenty of reverb and echoes. I would describe the style of the album as traditional roots reggaeDub paired with a modern ambient downbeat feeling. All tracks were produced, mixed and mastered by Roy Waterford aka R-Juna himself. Well done, Man!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

6 replies to "R-Juna: Dubs and Praises "

Ok, it took me a while to form an opinion about it. There is just a lot to check in the loop, or in the international, global PipeLine Of Dub.
Even if you don't like that Ras Vorbei but I think I'll be slowly writing, "I like"! .... because I'm running out of superlatives to get the hot one Dubs to meet.
Also R-Juna: Dubs and Praises is totally my thing. Sometimes I have old Creation Rebel moments and the RiddimKeyboard even sounds like various ones Dub Syndicate moments. Dub as the measure of all things !!!
I also find it fascinating that it is also in Cyprus, for example Dub Music producers out there. Dub has become a worldwide phenomenon. Together with Hopes and Herbes, in my opinion it is also the best roots medicine that you can give yourself as a person. Even if my comments sometimes (or always?) Suggest the opposite. But how did you last say in the institution ?! "Do more nonsense ladies and gentlemen" !!!
Unfortunately, that's no nonsense from me, because I have to admit that my “self-proclaimed perfect pitch” keeps failing me. I often cannot say with exact certainty whether it is synthybass (or Roma bass) or real bass or even both together. Even with "Dubs and Praises “I think I often hear a keyboard bass. By the way, quite often at Dub Syndicate. But no matter, as long as the bassline grabs me and it doesn't degenerate into boom, I don't care. The main thing is that it grooves!

Well, what do I do with this one now Dub ? I would say off the playlist with it and may the time come that I listen to it again. If my ears last that long, I'll have all day listening to music in about 14 years.
But now I have to check the tickets of the passengers in the elevator first. (The idea is not mine, but that's exactly my thing).

Until then ……………………… .. lemmi

Ah lemmi,

your humor is just amazing ;-))))! I like that!

The thing with the bass [whether Synthy or Roma ;-))))] causes problems for me more and more often. At least since the Chronicle Dub Trio, I'm amazed that the digital bass can sound so fat.

The Dubvirus is now circulating around the world and at the moment so many beautiful albums are being released that it is almost impossible to keep track of it.

Incidentally, Dubblog.de goes international, too!
http://www.dubophonic.com
Scroll to Airplays & Review

"Of the Dubvirus is now circulating around the world and at the moment so many beautiful albums are being released that it is almost impossible to keep track of it. "

Possibly is Dub too simple, too, so that there are so many who deliver such good things. Maybe we are Dubfans all so simple that we think it's all awesome. For me, I can only say that I basically everyone Dub good to very good. That's why I want the slices that I consider the top of the Dubs also like vinyl or at least a CD.
All the other (also) good material then just stays in the "loop". I only mess around so much because I have to talk badly to myself, because otherwise (as already mentioned) I would have to have at least the seven lives of a cat to check everything properly.

I'm with MAD PROFESSOR / ADRIAN SHERWOOD / Nick Mannaseh / Scientist and possibly Prince Jammy (Scientist thinks Prince Jammy would never have one Dub mixed and only put his name underneath if the scientist himself wasn't paying attention),
grew up. Fewer new discs came onto the market each year than in one night today. That could be mine Dubskull process everything very well and also celebrate properly but today I unfortunately have to tip over it very often superficially.
Because there are simply a lot of very good new ones DubWizzards that basically deserved a lot more of my attention. I really feel that as a great psychodilemma, because it creates a certain dissatisfaction in me, which stems from the fact that I know a lot but ultimately cannot enjoy everything for a long time. I'm back to eating:
Feels a bit like standing at the Chinese man's buffet and knowing from the start that with the best will in the world, I can't eat everything that I would love to try.

By the way, the "thing" with Scientist and Prince Jammy can also be a complete "Murx" of me, because I don't speak English well and so on.
But I understood it that way in an interview with Scientist at Reggaeville.

I would not be shaken in any way by a corrective instruction (if necessary).

Until ………………………………. lemmi

Yes lemmi,

sometimes less would be more. We start at one Dub-Overfeeding to suffer. Here we are again at the curse of the WWW. Our favorite pieces of music are always and everywhere available in unlimited quantities. The trick is really, that everyone selects for themselves and picks out the icing on the cake, which is not always that easy. Believe me, there will be drought again, when we will be happy that there are still some undiscovered diamonds in the "pipeline".
I also have no idea why so many are good to very good at the moment Dubs can be found. For me and not just for me Dub the essence of reggae, maybe more and more sound engineers see it that way. In addition, your assumption will be correct that it is many times easier today, awesome Dub-Album to be delivered. The technology is much more advanced. For example, a more powerful processor is built into a smartphone today than the computer in the Apollo XI was. That says it all. A good Dub It is certainly not easy to do, but the technology - which you still have to master - is more likely.

I would say to Prince Jammy to save his honor, he has proven from time to time that he is very well able to deliver good to very good albums on his own. Some works that appeared later were guaranteed to have been created without the involvement of Scientists. But what was going on between the two of them in Tubby's studio back then is beyond my knowledge.

Everything is already pretty far out, but I am always amused when I read here and there how the Jamaicans all nag each other afterwards. Good Lee hits Bob Marley in almost every interview
one out.
There we go again, reggae has nothing to do with peace, joy, pancakes and the "good vibes" so often evoked by Whyties
to do.
But when I keep hearing that reggae is soooooohoho chill, I don't understand the world anymore. Reggae is the bulwark against Babylon !!! Reggae is marching music !!! Dead to all black and white oppressors !!!!

Yeah man, I know I'm in the best mood for my Thursday reggae fair !!!

Got to go …… until then …………………… .. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

R-Juna: Dubs and Praises

Was mich doch immer wieder begeistert, ist, dass das kleine Sub-Genre Dub weltweit sehr viele Menschen in seinen Bann zieht und immer wieder neue, interessante Früchte trägt. Die zyprischen Dubophonic Records haben Ende November ein neues Album eines amerikanischen Produzenten und DJs veröffentlicht, der mir bis dato noch gar nicht bekannt war: R-JunaDubs and Praises“ (Dubophonic Records). Roy Waterford aka R-Juna kann auf 10 Jahre Erfahrung im Musikbiz zurückschauen, produzierte und veröffentlichte bereits mehrere Alben verschiedenster Genres, bevorzugt jedoch Hip-Hop.
Der aus Bloomington, Indiana, stammende R-Juna kehrt nach eigener Aussage zu seinen Dub-Reggae-Wurzeln zurück und veröffentlicht nun bei Dubophonic Records sein erstes Album. „Dubs and Praises“ besteht (leider) nur aus sieben Instrumental-Tracks, die mich mit richtig satten Bass-Lines, melodischen Riffs, gelegentlichen Horn-Section-Fragmenten und reichlich Hall und Echos vollauf zu überzeugen wissen. Den Stil des Albums würde ich als traditionellen Roots-Reggae-Dub gepaart mit modernem Ambient-Downbeat-Feeling beschreiben. Produziert, gemischt und gemastert wurden alle Tracks von Roy Waterford aka R-Juna selbst. Well done, Man!

Meine Wertung:

5 Gedanken zu „R-Juna: Dubs and Praises“

  1. Ok, hat ne Weile gedauert, bis ich mir ne Meinung dazu bilden konnte. Is halt sehr viel zum checken gerade in der Schleife, bzw. in der internationalen, weltumspannenden PipeLine Of Dub.
    Auch wenn du das nicht magst Ras Vorbei aber ich glaube, so langsam schreibe ich auch bald nur noch, „Gefällt mir“ ! …. denn es gehen mir immer mehr die Superlative aus, um den geilen Dubs, gerecht zu werden.
    Auch R-Juna: Dubs and Praises ist voll und ganz mein Ding. Teilweise habe ich alte Creation Rebel Momente und auch das RiddimKeyboard hört sich sogar nach diversen Dub Syndicate Momenten an. Dub als Maß aller Dinge !!!
    Ich finds auch faszinierend, das es zum Beispiel auch in Zypern Dub Musik Produzenten gibt. Dub ist wohl echt ein weltweites Phänomen geworden. Zusammen mit Hopes und Herbes ist es meiner Meinung nach auch die beste RootsMedizin, die man sich als Mensch geben kann. Auch wenn meine Kommentare manchmal ( oder doch immer ? ) das Gegenteil vermuten lassen. Aber wie sagten sie doch gerade zuletzt in der Anstalt ?! „Machen sie mehr Quatsch meine Damen und Herren“ !!!
    Das ist jetzt aber leider gar kein Quatsch von mir, denn ich muss gestehen, das mich mein „selbsternanntes absolutes Gehör“ immer mal wieder im Stich lässt. Ich kann oft nicht mit exakter Sicherheit sagen, ob es sich um Synthybass ( oder Romabass ) oder echten Bass oder sogar beides Zusammen handelt. Auch bei „Dubs and Praises“ glaube ich oft einen Keyboard Bass zu hören. Übrigens auch ziemlich oft beim Dub Syndicate. Aber egal, solange mich die Bassline packt und es nicht in Gedröhne ausartet, ist es mir schnuppe. Hauptsache es groovt !!!

    Tja, was mache ich nun also mit diesem Dub ? Ich würde sagen ab in die Playlist damit und möge die Zeit kommen, das ich sie mir auch noch mal anhöre. Wenn meine Ohren so lange halten, habe ich in ca. 14 Jahren den ganzen Tag Zeit,Musik zu hören.
    Jetzt muss ich aber erst mal die Fahrscheine der Fahrgäste im Fahrstuhl kontrollieren. ( Die Idee ist nicht von mir aber sowas ist auch genau mein Ding ).

    Bis denne erst mal ……………………….. lemmi

  2. Ah lemmi,

    dein Humor ist einfach nur umwerfend ;-))))! Das mag ich!

    Das mit dem Bass [ob Synthy oder Roma ;-))))] bereitet auch mir immer häufiger Probleme. Spätestens seit dem Chronicle Dub Trio bin ich darüber baff, dass der digitale Bass so fett klingen kann.

    Der Dubvirus kursiert mittlerweile weltweit und im Moment erscheinen so viele schöne Alben, dass es fast nicht mehr zu überblicken ist.

    Übrigens, Dubblog.de goes international, too!
    http://www.dubophonic.com
    Scroll mal auf Airplays & Review

    1. „Der Dubvirus kursiert mittlerweile weltweit und im Moment erscheinen so viele schöne Alben, dass es fast nicht mehr zu überblicken ist.“

      Eventuell ist Dub ja auch zu simpel, so daß es so viele gibt, die da so gute Sachen abliefern. Vielleicht sind wir Dubfans ja alle so einfach gestrickt, das wir das alles geil finden. Für mich kann ich jedenfalls nur sagen, das ich im Grunde jeden Dub gut bis sehr gut finde. Deshalb möchte ich die Scheiben, die ich als die Spitze des Dubs empfinde auch gern als Vinyl bzw. wenigstens als CD.
      Der ganze andere ( auch ) gute Stoff, bleibt dann eben in der „Schleife“. Ich nöle ja nur so viel rum, weil ich mir vieles selbst schlecht reden muss, da ich ansonsten ( wie auch schon mal erwähnt ) mindestens die sieben Leben einer Katze haben müsste, um alles richtig zu checken.

      Ich bin ja mit MAD PROFESSOR / ADRIAN SHERWOOD / Nick Mannaseh / Scientist und eventuell Prince Jammy ( Scientist meint ja, Prince Jammy hätte nie einen Dub gemixt und seinen Namen nur drunter gesetzt, wenn Scientist selbst nicht aufgepasst hat ),
      aufgewachsen. Da kamen pro Jahr weniger neue Scheiben auf den Markt als heute in einer Nacht. Das konnte mein Dubschädel alles sehr gut verarbeiten und auch gebührend abfeiern aber heute muss ich leider sehr oft oberflächlich drüber hinwegskippen.
      Denn es gibt einfach jede Menge sehr gute neue DubWizzards, die im Grunde viel mehr von meiner Aufmerksamkeit verdient hätten. Das empfinde ich wirklich als großes Psychodilemma, denn es erzeugt bei mir eine gewisse Unzufriedenheit, die daher rührt, das ich sehr viel kenne aber letztenendes lange nicht alles genießen kann. Da bin ich wieder beim Essen :
      Fühlt sich ein bischen so an, als würde ich beim Chinamann am Buffet stehen und von vorn herein wissen, ich kann beim besten Willen nicht alles essen, was ich liebend gern probieren möchte.

      Übrigens, die „Sache“ mit Scientist und Prince Jammy kann auch kompletter „Murx“ von mir sein, da ich „nix gut english“ und so.
      Aber ich habe das in einem Interview mit Scientist bei Reggaeville so verstanden.

      Über eine korrigierende Belehrung ( wenn nötig ) wäre ich also in keinster Weise erschüttert.

      Bis denne ………………………………. lemmi

  3. Ja lemmi,

    weniger wäre manchmal mehr. Wir beginnen an einem Dub-Overfeeding zu leiden. Da sind wir wieder beim Fluch des WWW. Unsere Lieblingsmucke ist immer und überall in unbegrenztem Maße verfügbar. Die Kunst ist wirklich, dass jeder für sich selektiert und sich die Sahnestückchen rauspickt, was garnicht immer so einfach ist. Glaube mir, es werden auch wieder Dürrezeiten kommen, wo wir dann froh sein werden, dass sich noch einige unentdeckte Diamanten in der „Pipeline“ befinden.
    Ich habe auch keine Vorstellung, warum momentan so viele gute bis sehr gute Dubs zu finden sind. Für mich und nicht nur für mich ist Dub die Essenz des Reggaes, vielleicht sehen das immer mehr Sound-Engineers so. Außerdem wird deine Vermutung schon zutreffen, dass es heute ein Vielfaches leichter ist, ein geiles Dub-Album abzuliefern. Die Technik ist sehr viel weiter. In einem Smartphone ist z.B. heute ein leistungsfähigerer Prozessor verbaut als der Computer in der Apollo XI war. Das sagt doch alles. Einen guten Dub zu machen ist sicherlich nicht simpel, die Technik – die man dennoch beherrschen muss – dafür dann schon eher.

    Zu Prince Jammy würde ich zu seiner Ehrenrettung sagen, er hat doch ab und zu bewiesen, dass er sehr wohl alleine in der Lage ist, gute bis sehr gute Alben abzuliefern. Einige später erschienene Werke waren garantiert ohne Scientists Zutun entstanden. Was da aber damals in Tubby’s Studio zwischen den Zweien gelaufen ist, entzieht sich meiner Kenntnis.

    1. Is zwar alles schon wieder ziemlich weit ausgeholt aber mich amüsiert das auch immer, wenn ich hier und da mal lese, wie die Jamaikaner sich im Nachhinein alle gegenseitig anzicken. Der gute Lee, haut ja auch fast in jedem Interview gegen Bob Marley
      einen raus.
      Da haben wir es wieder, Reggae hat nix mit Friede Freude Eierkuchen und den so oft von Whyties beschworenen „good vibes“
      zu tun.
      Allein wenn ich immer höre, Reggae is ja soooooohoho chillig, verstehe ich die Welt nicht mehr. Reggae ist das Bollwerk gegen Babylon !!! Reggae ist Marschmusik !!! Tot allen schwarzen und weißen Unterdrückern !!!!

      Yeah Mann, ich merke ich bin in bester Stimmung für meine Donnerstags – Reggae – Messe !!!

      Muss los …… bis denne …………………….. lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.