Categories
Review

Ancient Mountain: Ghetto Dub Flight. 2

An album title like “Ghetto Dub"Gives hope for a veritable one-drop bass monster from the deepest 1970s, brand" Blackheart Man ". When a majestic and venerable “Ancient Mountain” is also cited as an artist, the expectation rises immeasurably: an album like this has no choice but to be either crazy or terribly bad; there is zero leeway in between. But as it is with preconceived notions: They don't stand up to reality. And so the reviewer is amazed when he discovers that this is a German production. Extensive research and an interview later, the world is all right again and the album is in perspective. So let's dive right into the matter and bring on the hardcore facts:

Ancient Mountain is a label, studio and musical project by Martin Musch and Markus Dassmann. While the latter plays bass, guitar, piano, organ and melodica as a multi-instrumentalist, Musch contributes the drums and mix and is thus setting the tone in the truest sense of the word. The drummer is no stranger to anyone who reads liner notes - with Uwe Banton's Movements, the Sharp Ax Band or Irie Miah's Massive Vibes, he has long been an integral part of the German reggae scene; You don't need to say a word more about Markus Dassmann from the Senior Allstars.

"Ghetto Dub Flight. 2“(Ancient Mountain Records) is not their first collaboration; Dassmann was the lead on the 2020 De Soto album “Silverado Days” and implemented his musical ideas. This becomes obvious in a direct listening comparison: "Silverado Days“Could pass for a more accessible Senior Allstars album; not nearly as top-heavy, but the mix is ​​a typical old man's release: flatter than flat. “These are almost 15 year old home studio recordings that Markus recorded and mixed single-handedly - I only contributed the drums,” explains Musch. “For the Ancient Mountain recordings, on the other hand, we use a professional analog studio with a Hammond organ with a Leslie speaker; there is a piano, a Wurlitzer e-piano, a huge selection of old (tube) mics and the corresponding technology. ”Then the old school recordings go to his own Ancient Mountain Studio, where Musch does the things“ hybrid ” mixed with the help of selected analog EQ's and compressors, spring reverb and a small desk. 

Ghetto Dub Vol. 2 and its predecessor (currently only available on Bandcamp) Flight. 1 are - contrary to the expectations of the title - inspired by the classic idea of ​​B-Sides and Versions. “As a“ Ghetto Dub"We call a variety of reggae - the classically hard-played and reduced Channel One sound in minor, as cultivated by the Revolutionaries or the Roots Radics in their heyday at the end of the 1970s to the beginning of the 80s." Apart from that, according to Musch, “Ghetto”, far removed from the socio-cultural context, of course also means a space of limited possibilities and improvisation. In other words: None of the tracks were recorded with the intention of an album release. It is rather the classic recycling of leftovers - from a hodgepodge of musical ideas that has accumulated over time and was too good to throw away; of musical fragments that were not published elsewhere and remained. However, this does not detract from the quality of the material: "What ultimately counts with Ancient Mountain are good songs and a special analog sound."

The exercise was a success: “Ghetto Dub Vol. 2 “does not shine with rushing Dub-Effects - the simple and therefore all the more catchy bass lines are the best classic reggae craft. Martin Musch congenially gives his best Sly Dunbar: “We can't deny our musical background: Channel One, Sly & Robbie, the Roots Radics etc. are musical giants who have created this unique sound and which we are trying to reproduce. "

No question, original sounds and high-quality sound are personally more important to Musch than flashy effects: “We only use acoustic instruments. A grand piano that is picked up with two condenser microphones still sounds different than the best emulation. ”Especially with the drums, which Musch played mostly without a click track, the analog recording technology suits listening habits very well. “With my background as a drummer, I try to create an exciting contrast between soft sounds and percussive elements. Of course, a lot of sound also comes from the fingers, i.e. from many years of experience. Without an accomplished universal musician like Markus Dassmann, Ancient Mountain would certainly sound different. " 

So routine and ability versus creative daring? Well, with “Ghetto Dub Vol. 2 “will certainly not be celebrating King Tubby's resurrection - Musch and Dassmann rely on small bass jewels and the classic, but now worlds better sounding analogue sound: Channel One Deluxe, so to speak. Just two mediocre excursions into the funky disturb the album flow and diminish the positive overall impression - without them the album would probably be the most coherent leftovers ever.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

4 replies to “Ancient Mountain: Ghetto Dub Vol. 2 "

Sorry if my comment doesn't do justice to the review in the least. "Ancient Mountain 2" is, so to speak, a victim of my "DubDecadence". Whereby “decadence” means something different than what it should stand for here. I mean that again in the form of excess with the complete loss of appreciation for details and the lack of humility for the creativity of the large number of artists who deal with my (our) favorite work. If at all, I still enjoy “Ancient Mountain Vol.1”, which is rarely played in professional vinyl with a “beautiful 30 × 30 cover” at home. I thought it was good straight away, but after listening to it several times, it stuck in my mind as "too common". So Vol.2 is now simply “inconvenient” to pounce on it full of curiosity. Almost certainly
I probably miss one or the other magical moment, but there is a lot Dubs that fascinate me more.
"Leftover" is for me in Dub not an exclusion criterion but something like that has to be properly taken into account by Adrian DubTechnology get “dirty” so that my curiosity is not only aroused, but also satisfied.
So Vol.2 is definitely okay, but I'm not "finished" with Vol.1.

Until …………………. lemmi

Unfortunately no gtkriz, even after the tenth attempt, “Ancient Mountain: Ghetto Dub Vol. 2 ”is and remains very boring! I'm very sorry, but that's how I feel.

No need to be sorry, Frans. You gave the album ten chances, and I applaud you for not giving up easily!

Reply

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Ancient Mountain: Ghetto Dub Vol. 2

Allein schon ein Albumtitel wie „Ghetto Dub“ lässt auf ein veritables One Drop-Bassmonster aus den tiefsten 1970ern, Marke „Blackheart Man“, hoffen. Wenn als Artist dann auch noch ein majestätisch-ehrwürdiges „Ancient Mountain“ angeführt wird, steigt die Erwartung ins Unermessliche: So ein Album hat keine andere Wahl als entweder fetzgeil oder grottenschlecht zu sein; dazwischen gibt’s Null Spielraum. Aber wie das nun mal ist mit vorgefassten Meinungen: Sie halten der Realität nicht stand. Und so staunt der Rezensent nicht schlecht, als er entdeckt, dass es sich hier um eine deutsche Produktion handelt. Eine ausgiebige Recherche und ein Interview später ist die Welt wieder in Ordnung und das Album in Perspektive gesetzt. Also mit Kopfsprung rein in die Materie und her mit den Hardcore-Facts:

Ancient Mountain ist Label, Studio und musikalisches Projekt von Martin Musch und Markus Dassmann. Während letzterer als Multiinstrumentalist Bass, Gitarre, Piano, Orgel und Melodica einspielt, steuert Musch Schlagzeug und Mix bei und ist damit im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes tonangebend. Für alle, die Linernotes lesen, ist der Drummer kein Unbekannter – mit Uwe Banton’s Movements, der Sharp Axe Band oder Irie Miah’s Massive Vibes ist er längst fixer Teil der deutschen Reggae-Szene; über Markus Dassmann von den Senior Allstars braucht man wohl kein Wort mehr zu verlieren.

Ghetto Dub Vol. 2“ (Ancient Mountain Records) ist nicht die erste Zusammenarbeit der beiden; auf dem 2020 erschienen De Soto-Album „Silverado Days“ hatte Dassmann den Lead und setzte seine musikalischen Vorstellungen um. Das wird im direkten Hörvergleich offensichtlich: „Silverado Days“ könnte durchaus als zugänglicheres Senior Allstars-Album durchgehen; zwar bei weitem nicht so kopflastig, aber vom Mix her ein typischer Altherren-Release: flacher als flach. „Das sind nahezu 15 Jahre alte Homestudio-Aufnahmen, die Markus im Alleingang fertig eingespielt und gemischt hat – ich habe lediglich die Drums beigesteuert“, erklärt Musch. „Für die Ancient Mountain-Aufnahmen hingegen nutzen wir ein professionelles Analog-Studio, wo noch eine Hammondorgel mit Leslie-Speaker steht; es gibt ein Klavier, ein Wurlitzer E-Piano, eine Riesenauswahl an alten (Röhren-)Mikros und die entsprechende Technik dazu.“ Danach geht‘s mit den Old School-Aufnahmen ins eigene Ancient Mountain Studio, wo Musch die Sachen „hybrid“, sprich mit Hilfe von ausgesuchten analogen EQ’s und Kompressoren, Federhall und einem kleinen Pult abmischt. 

Ghetto Dub Vol. 2 und sein (derzeit nur auf Bandcamp erhältlicher) Vorgänger Vol. 1 sind – entgegen der vom Titel herrührenden Erwartungen – von der klassischen Idee der B-Sides und Versions beseelt. „Als „Ghetto Dub“ bezeichnen wir eine Spielart des Reggae – den klassisch hart gespielten und reduzierten Channel One-Sound in Moll, wie ihn die Revolutionaries oder die Roots Radics zu ihrer Blütezeit Ende der 1970er bis Anfang der 80er gepflegt haben.“ Davon ab gesehen, so Musch, bedeute „Ghetto“ fernab vom soziokulturellen Kontext natürlich auch einen Raum beschränkter Möglichkeiten und Improvisation. Soll heißen: Keiner der Tracks wurde mit der Absicht eines Album-Releases aufgenommen. Es ist vielmehr die klassische Resteverwertung – aus einem Sammelsurium an musikalischen Ideen, dass sich im Laufe der Zeit angesammelt hat und zu Schade zum Wegwerfen war; von musikalischen Bruchstücken, die anderswo doch nicht veröffentlicht wurden und übrig blieben. Das tut der Qualität des Materials allerdings keinen Abbruch: „Was bei Ancient Mountain letztlich zählt, sind gute Songs und ein spezieller Analogsound.“

Die Übung ist durchaus gelungen: „Ghetto Dub Vol. 2“ glänzt zwar nicht mit rauschenden Dub-Effekten – dafür sind die simplen und damit umso eingängigeren Basslines bestes klassisches Reggae-Handwerk. Martin Musch gibt dazu kongenial seinen besten Sly Dunbar: „Wir können unseren musikalischen Background nun mal nicht verleugnen: Channel One, Sly & Robbie, die Roots Radics usw. sind musikalischen Riesen, die diesen einzigartigen Sound geschaffen haben und den wir zu reproduzieren versuchen.“

Keine Frage, originäre Sounds und qualitativ hochwertiger Klang sind Musch persönlich wichtiger als flashige Effekte: „Wir nutzen ausschließlich akustische Instrumente. Ein Flügel, der mit zwei Kondensatormikrofonen abgenommen wird, klingt eben immer noch anders als die beste Emulation.“ Gerade bei den Drums, die Musch überwiegend ohne Clicktrack eingespielt hat, kommt die analoge Aufnahmetechnik den Hörgewohnheiten sehr entgegen. „Mit meinem Hintergrund als Schlagzeuger versuche ich einen spannenden Kontrast zwischen weichen Sounds und perkussiven Elementen zu schaffen. Viel Sound kommt natürlich auch aus den Fingern, sprich der langjährigen Erfahrung. Ohne einen versierten Universalmusikern wie Markus Dassmann würde Ancient Mountain sicher anders klingen.“ 

Also Routine und Können versus kreativem Wagemut? Nun ja, mit „Ghetto Dub Vol. 2“ wird sicher nicht King Tubby‘s Wiederauferstehung abgefeiert – dafür setzten Musch und Dassmann auf kleine Bass-Juwelen und den klassischen, aber heute um Welten besser klingenden analogen Sound: Channel One Deluxe, sozusagen. Allein zwei mediokre Ausflüge ins Funkige stören den Album-Flow und mindern den positiven Gesamteindruck – ohne sie wäre das Album wahrscheinlich die in sich stimmigste Resteverwertung ever.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

4 Antworten auf „Ancient Mountain: Ghetto Dub Vol. 2“

Sorry, wenn mein Kommentar der Rezension nicht im Geringsten gerecht wird. „Ancient Mountain 2“ ist sozusagen ein Opfer meiner „DubDekadenz“. Wobei „Dekadenz“ ja doch etwas anderes Bedeutet, als das, wofür es hier stehen soll. Ich meine das mal wieder in Form von Überfluss mit dem kompletten Verlust von Wertschätzung für Einzelheiten und dem Mangel an Demut für die Kreativität der großen Vielzahl an Künstlern, die sich mit meinem ( unserem ) Lieblingswerk beschäftigen. Wenn überhaupt, erfreue ich mich immer noch an „Ancient Mountain Vol.1“, welche in professionellem Vinyl mit „schönem 30×30 Cover“ bei mir Zuhause in ganz seltenen Fällen mal aufgelegt wird. Ich fand die auf Anhieb gut aber bei mehrmaligem Hören ist sie mir doch als „zu gewöhnlich“ in Erinnerung gebleiben. Also kommt mir Vol.2 jetzt schlichtweg „ungelegen“, um mich voller Neugier darauf zu stürzen. Mit ziemlicher Sicherheit
entgeht mir da wohl auch der eine oder andere magische Moment aber es gibt nunmal jede Menge Dubs, die mich mehr faszinieren.
„Resteverwertung“ ist für mich im Dub kein Aussch(l)usskriterium aber sowas muss dann schon vom Adrian ordentlich mit DubTechnik „beschmutzt“ werden, damit meine Neugier nicht nur geweckt, sondern auch befriedigt wird.
Also Vol.2 ist bestimmt auch ganz Ok aber ich bin mit Vol.1 noch nicht „fertig“.

Bis denne …………………. lemmi

Unfortunately no gtkriz, even after the tenth attempt, “Ancient Mountain: Ghetto Dub Vol. 2” is and remains very boring! I’m very sorry, but that’s how I feel.

No need to be sorry, Frans. You gave the album ten chances, and I applaud you for not giving up easily!

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.