Categories
Review

Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & firehouse crew

The Echo Beach label knows how to recycle its published productions one or more times. With a bit of goodwill, this can be interpreted as sustainable upcycling or even further research on the musical microbiome; In the present case, however, I see it more as a revitalization measure for a… well, suboptimally successful album. In short, Dubblestandart's "Reggae Classics“Collaboration with the Firehouse Crew has been given a bold makeover. After Paolo Baldini for his fine Dubblestandart remix album has already mixed up and cleared out two tracks, is now taking it Felix Wolter aka The Dubvision is grateful to the entire album that just under the title "Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & firehouse crew“(Echo Beach) is out.

The Dubvisionist does his job very briskly, not to say: inconsiderate, and he does not think about taking prisoners: fly like this Paul Zasky's stiff vocals are completely out of the mix and are only allowed to return, if at all, as highly alienated snippets. So for the first time it is actually possible to put fragments of the voice at the service of the cause and thus to remedy a major shortcoming of the original album. Felix Wolter is also not squeamish with other audio tracks; Guitar or drum parts have to believe in it to make room for the synths that are more conducive to the intended mood. As a sound carpet they play an important role in the mix and spread a solemn, sometimes mystical-melancholy atmosphere that shapes the basic tenor of the album.

I'm struggling with this resolute, uncompromising approach of the Dubvisionists pay some respect; what he still gets out of the given sounds is astonishing: if the originals danced along too lightly, he now gives them a proper foundation - a piece like “Hypocrite” turns into a pounding furiosity. Other tracks, on the other hand, seem to float ethereally; the opener "I'm No Robot" conjures up the basic mood of the album for more than a minute - before borrowing the drums on the hook of Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart" is taken. A dramaturgical highlight, no question about it. The new, spaceier version of Burning Spear's “Fly Me To The Moon” was just as successful - it was amazing how the new mix animated the material and impressively demonstrated how two Dub-Mixer - Felix Wolter and Robbie Ost - interpret one and the same material differently.

Now it is probably the case that two hearts are pounding in Felix Wolter's chest - there is the cherished one Dubvisionists, but also the PFL (Pre Fade Listening) project that is more or less dedicated to lounge music. Both influence and fertilize each other to a certain extent, which is undoubtedly based on "Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & Firehouse Crew ”is understandable. This mixture is what makes Wolter's mixes so appealing, but it is for the Dubhead becomes a problem at the latest when PFL takes over the command and leads a track like “Babylon The Bandit” into shallower lounge waters. A one-time slip that is just caught by a dominant bassline.

In terms of sound, we are moving here in the typical Dubvisionist dimensions: distinctive, more centralized bass; holding back the heights. Anyone expecting crystal clear, glittering Trebbles will be disappointed. Everyone else knows that a sonic high-gloss polish would be wrong here - Dub is more of a steamroller than a greyhound, more feeling than intellect. Under this premise the transforms Dubvision is a formerly stiff, wooden release into a soulful, worn-melancholy, but ultimately also into an album with a positive outlook.

PS: For those interested in sound technology, I recommend the mixes by Robbie Ost, Paolo Baldini and vom Dublistening to visionists back-to-back; the differences are as striking as they are astonishing: a short journey through three different worlds of sound.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

9 replies to "Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & Firehouse Crew "

Analyzed very aptly. To hear “Fly me to the Moon” and “Babylon the Bandit” in comparison is really very illuminating. Fantastic, what tonal variety a minimalist concept like Dub then made possible.

First of all, I really didn't know that Burning Spear's “Fly Me To The Moon” was. There were two or three records that Burning Spear didn't really interest me.
Maybe the tune comes from one of these discs. I just listened to it again on yt and have to say that DubI like it better because the great bassline is a lot here
cuts through more clearly. Already on the DubblestandartDubVersion I found this one Dub with a slight margin before “JAH JAH see dem a come” best of all and have heard it up and down, although I do most of the others Dubs often just “flown over. “I am no robot”, I have to emphasize very positively. Well I found that DubSlice of Dubblestandart / Fire House Crew actually good enough so that I wouldn't have needed any more infusions, especially since it's worldwide after one anyway DubOverKill looks like. (My opinion on the Portuguese "DubTry "I prefer not to write here because my mood has been quite tense for some time anyway and the" Portuguese "have partly worsened this mood). But it's always interesting that Dub"Playing off" versions against each other. Which version I find best in the end, I will probably never be able to answer. In one version I like the intro best, in another the slider for the riddim is left up longer, here and there, they “crack”
Effects sometimes more sometimes less, but by and large, Adrian Sherwood summed it up a long time ago. "At first you need a good riddim, to make a good Dub". There are many good riddims here, maybe all of them. That's why I find everyone DubVersions more or less well done. I find the intro of "JAH JAH see dem a come, for example, from Robbie Ost ( Dubblestandart) better than that of DubVisionists. In return I would be very happy if the version of Felix would appear in a SteppersSoundSystemPlayList, because I consider it to be a straightforward, forward-rushing SteppersStyle. I would be happy to join you. No matter what the others say, I am a "DUBHEAD “!!! Because the “lounge version” of “Babylon The Bandit” is not necessarily “a problem” for me, but I can do without it. But that's not necessarily just because of the “lounge style” but rather because the bassline doesn't tear it out for me, in this case. I have nothing against "loungy" Dubs but lounge music itself is a third choice for me. “Crystal clear - glittering Trebbles” a la Mad Professor are the opposite of Felix Wolter's sound. Here and there, the HöhenPfad could be used a little more for my taste, because the sound comes across a bit dull at first. But that's why I have my height regulator, which I just pitch up a bit in such cases.
One thing is also clear. Should I have to make any effort to get this disc as vinyl or polished plastic, it will no longer be heard from me. She disappears in the swamp of data (period)
The vinyl version that I have at home has a clear advantage (exclamation mark)
Well, every now and then I come with the “Deep In Dub Playlist ”from gtkriz at this point and if I still don't have it at home as“ hardware ”, I'll be happy that I can even hear it. Let's see if Echo Beach stays true to its passion …………….

“I am no Robot” (I don't get tired of data) ………………………………… .. lemmi

Thank you for your, as always interesting, comment, lemmi!
In comparison, I myself find Paolo Baldini's mix the best, because it comes closest to the daring of a King Tubby. The mix of DubI like visionists because he conjures up this wonderfully melancholy mood and runs through the entire length of the album. I think Robbie Ost's mix is… hmmm… so-so. The man has already delivered better.
In the end, it's all a matter of taste and also the extent to which subjective expectations are met.

High gtkriz!

The mix from Paolo is of course also great. I hardly or not mentioned him because he only has two Dubs contains this special album. It is also a fact that you have read all reviews for the reasons of the recession Dubs even more intensely than I did. A melancholy is with me
Mix by Felix Wolter didn't even become that aware. Except for “Babylon The Bandit” and the beginning of the whole disc. Nevertheless, I am sure that it is there when you have noticed it. However, I have already indicated that I have no contracts at all with Melancholy. I can do without this mood completely. I always need peace
Joy, pancakes …… revolution and uprising …… .. in short, I need “UPLIFTMENT” !!!

I always come down on my own anyway …………… .. lemmi

And sometimes I come back and I'm just very little with a hat.
Somehow I had to really ground myself again last weekend. And then it came to me Dub Syndicate just about right. And what I noticed in particular was that too Dub Syndicate always has very melancholy moments. Actually, I knew that too, but on the one hand I often simply "dismissed" this melancholy as special magic and on the other hand I was mostly far from my own inner sadness, so that this melancholy seemed magical and not sad to me.
I wanted to mention that again so that everyone doesn't think I'm a monster. Melancholy may not even equate directly to sadness-
add but it often comes down to it for me. And who likes to be voluntary?
Sad ?!
Today is Monday and I'm always very "sad" or melancholy ;-)

Ok, "the show must go on" (no time for sadness) ………… .. lemmi

I wouldn't equate melancholy with sadness ... I would associate autumn with melancholy - the falling leaves, the fog, the cool temperatures, the diminishing light. If I put that into an emotional state, it would be… melancholy.

Good news on things Dub Syndicate: "No Bed of Roses" and "Dub Syndicate Overdubbed bei Rob Smith ”(originally CD1 from“ The Rasta Far I ”) is finally available in the stream. Who knows, maybe there will also be my # 1: "Acres of Space".

“……… the falling leaves, the fog, the cool temperatures, the diminishing light.

That sounds very sad now ;-) Well, we know it's a cycle and next spring is sure to come.

It's always the other way around for me. I am happy when “Strömelinge” is also available on CD or vinyl. But also that
lifts my mood extremely, because what you are so happy about, I have everything as a CD in my drawer. So here it's the other way around.

But I have to clarify the sentence "originally from" The Rasta Far I "for myself ;-)

Until ……………… lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Dub

Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & Firehouse Crew

Das Echo Beach-Label versteht es, seine veröffentlichten Produktionen ein- oder mehrmals wiederzuverwerten. Das kann man mit einigem good will als nachhaltiges Upcyclen oder gar als Weiterforschen am musikalischen Mikrobiom interpretieren; in vorliegendem Fall sehe ich es aber eher als Wiederbelebungsmaßnahme für ein… nun ja, suboptimal gelungenes Album. Kurzum, Dubblestandart’s „Reggae Classics“-Kollaboration mit der Firehouse Crew hat einen kräftigen neuen Anstrich erhalten. Nachdem Paolo Baldini für sein feines Dubblestandart-Remix Album bereits zwei Tracks aufgemischt und entrümpelt hat, nimmt sich jetzt Felix Wolter aka The Dubvisionist dankenswerterweise des gesamten Albums an, dass soeben unter dem Titel „Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & Firehouse Crew“ (Echo Beach) erschienen ist.

Der Dubvisionist erledigt dabei seinen Job recht forsch, um nicht zu sagen: rücksichtslos, und er denkt nicht daran, Gefangene zu machen: So fliegen Paul Zasky’s steife Vocals komplett aus dem Mix und dürfen, wenn überhaupt, nur mehr als hochgradig verfremdete Schnipsel zurückkehren. So gelingt es tatsächlich erstmals, Bruchstücke der Stimme in den Dienst der Sache zu stellen und damit ein großes Manko des Original-Albums zu beheben. Auch mit anderen Tonspuren geht Felix Wolter nicht zimperlich um; Gitarren- oder Drum-Parts müssen schon mal dran glauben, um Raum für die der beabsichtigten Stimmung zuträglicheren Synths zu schaffen. Als Klangteppich spielen sie eine gewichtige Rolle im Mix und verbreiten eine getragene, mitunter mystisch-melancholische Atmosphäre, die den Grundtenor des Albums prägt.

Mir ringt diese resolute, kompromisslose Herangehensweise des Dubvisionisten einigen Respekt ab; was er aus den gegebenen Klängen noch rausholt, ist erstaunlich: Tänzelten die Originale noch allzu leichtfüßig daher, bekommt sie jetzt von ihm ein ordentliches Fundament verpasst – ein Stück wie „Hypocrite“ gerät so zum stampfenden Furiosum. Andere Tracks scheinen hingegen ätherisch zu schweben; der Opener „I’m No Robot“ beschwört schon mal mehr als eine Minute die Grundstimmung des Albums herbei – bevor mit Einsetzen der Drums Anleihe an der Hookline von Joy Division’s „Love Will Tear Us Apart“ genommen wird. Ein dramaturgischer Glanzgriff, keine Frage. Ebenso gelungen die neue, spacigere Version von Burning Spear’s „Fly Me To The Moon“ – erstaunlich, wie der neue Mix das Material belebt und eindrucksvoll demonstriert, wie zwei Dub-Mixer – Felix Wolter und Robbie Ost – ein und das selbe Material unterschiedlich interpretieren.

Nun ist es wohl so, dass zwei Herzen in Felix Wolter’s Brust pochen – da gibt’s den geschätzten Dubvisionisten, aber auch das Projekt PFL (Pre Fade Listening), dass sich mehr oder weniger der Lounge-Musik verschrieben hat. Beide beeinflussen und befruchten sich zu einem gewissen Grad gegenseitig, was zweifellos anhand von „Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & Firehouse Crew“ nachvollziehbar ist. Diese Mischung macht bisweilen den Reiz von Wolter’s Mixes aus, wird aber für den Dubhead spätestens dann zum Problem, wenn PFL dann doch mal das Kommando an sich reißt und einen Track wie „Babylon The Bandit“ in seichtere Lounge-Gewässer führt. Ein einmaliger Ausrutscher, der gerade noch von einer dominanten Bassline aufgefangen wird.

Soundtechnisch bewegen wir uns hier in den typischen Dubvisionist-Dimensionen: Markanter, eher mittig angelegter Bass; die Höhen zurückhaltend. Wer sich kristallklar-glitzernde Trebbles erwartet, wird enttäuscht werden. Alle anderen wissen, dass eine klangliche Hochglanzpolitur hier falsch am Platz wäre – Dub ist nun mal mehr Dampfwalze als Windspiel, mehr Gefühl denn Intellekt. Unter dieser Prämisse verwandelt der Dubvisionist einen ehemals hölzern-steifen Release in ein gefühlvolles, getragen-melancholisches, letztlich aber doch auch in ein Album mit positivem Ausblick.

P.S.: Klangtechnisch Interessierten empfehle ich, die Mixes von Robbie Ost, Paolo Baldini und vom Dubvisionisten back-to-back anzuhören; die Unterschiede sind ebenso eklatant wie erstaunlich: eine kleine Reise durch drei unterschiedliche Klangwelten.

Bewertung: 4 von 5.

8 Antworten auf „Dubvisionist meets Dubblestandart & Firehouse Crew“

Sehr treffend analysiert. “Fly me to the Moon” und “Babylon the Bandit” im Vergleich zu hören ist wirklich maximal erhellend. Fantastisch, welche klangliche Vielfalt ein minimalistisches Konzept wie Dub dann doch ermöglicht.

Zunächst mal, das “Fly Me To The Moon” von Burning Spear ist, wusste ich echt noch nicht. Es gab so zwei drei Scheiben, die mich von Burning Spear nicht wirklich interressiert haben.
Vielleicht stammt der Tune ja von einer dieser Scheiben. Habe ihn mir gerade nochmal auf y.t. angehört und muss sagen, die Dubs gefallen mir besser, weil hier die geile Bassline viel
deutlicher durchschlägt. Schon auf der DubblestandartDubVersion fand ich diesen Dub mit leichtem Abstand vor “JAH JAH see dem a come” am allerbesten und habe ihn rauf und runter gehört, wobei ich die meisten anderen Dubs doch oft einfach “überflogen habe. “I am no robot”, muss ich auch noch sehr positiv herausheben. Nun, ich fand die DubScheibe von Dubblestandart / Fire House Crew eigentlich gut genug, so daß ich keine weiteren Aufgüsse gebraucht hätte, zumal es weltweit eh nach einem DubOverKill aussieht. ( Meine Meinung zu den portugiesischen “DubVersuchen” habe ich hier lieber erst gar nicht hingeschrieben, da meine Laune seit einiger Zeit eh ziemlich angespannt ist und die “Portugiesen” diese Laune zum Teil noch verschlechtert haben ). Interressant ist es aber allemal, die DubVersions gegeneinander “auszuspielen”. Welche Version ich letztendes am besten finde, werde ich wohl niemals beantworten können. Bei der einen Version gefällt mir das Intro am besten bei einer anderen wird der Schieber für den Riddim länger oben gelassen, hier und da, “krachen” die
Effekte mal mehr mal weniger aber im Großen und Ganzen, hat Adrian Sherwood es ja schon vor langer Zeit auf den Punkt gebracht. “At first you need a good riddim, to make a good Dub”. Gute Riddims hat es hier viele, vielleicht sogar alle. Von daher finde ich alle DubVersions mehr oder weniger sehr gelungen. Das Intro von “JAH JAH see dem a come finde ich zum Beispiel von Robbie Ost ( Dubblestandart ) besser als das vom DubVisionisten. Dafür würde ich mich übermäßig freuen, wenn die Version vom Felix mal in einer SteppersSoundSystemPlayList erscheinen würde, da ich das als astreinen, nach vorn preschenden SteppersStyle empfinde. Da würde ich mit Vergnügen mit hotten. Egal, was die anderen sagen, ich bin ein “DUBHEAD” !!! Denn die “LoungeVersion” von “Babylon The Bandit” ist zwar nicht unbedingt “ein Problem” für mich aber da kann ich auch gut drauf verzichten. Das liegt aber nicht unbedingt nur am “loungigen Stil” sondern eher daran, das die Bassline es für mich, in diesem Fall, auch nicht rausreißt. Ich habe nix gegen “loungige” Dubs aber Lounge Music an sich ist eher dritte Wahl bei mir. “Kristallklar – glitzernde Trebbles” a la Mad Professor sind das Gegenteil vom Sound von Felix Wolter. Hier und da, könnte der HöhenPfad, für meinen Geschmack aber doch etwas mehr benutzt werden, da der Sound im ersten Moment doch auch ein wenig Dumpf rüber kommt. Aber dafür habe ich ja meinen Höhenregler, den ich in solchen Fällen einfach mal ein bischen hoch pitche.
Eins ist auch klar. Sollte ich mich in irgendeiner Form anstrengen müssen, diese Scheibe als Vinyl oder eben poliertem Plastik zu bekommen, wird sie nicht mehr von mir gehört. Sie verschwindet im Sumpf der Daten ( Punkt )
Da ist die VinylVersion, die ich zu Hause habe, ganz klar im Vorteil ( Ausrufezeichen )
Naja, hin und wieder komme ich ja mit der “Deep In Dub Playlist” von gtkriz an diese Stelle und falls ich sie dann immer noch nicht als “Hardware” zu Hause habe, werde ich mich dann freuen, das ich sie überhaupt hören kann. Mal schauen ob Echo Beach seiner Passion treu bleibt …………….

“I am no Robot” ( von daten werde ich nicht satt ) ………………………………….. lemmi

Danke für Deinen wie immer interessanten Kommentar, lemmi!
Ich selbst finde im Vergleich den Mix von Paolo Baldini am besten, weil er dem Wagemut eines King Tubby am nächsten kommt. Den Mix vom Dubvisionisten mag ich, weil er diese wunderbar melancholische Stimmung heraufbeschwört und sie auch die ganze Albumlänge durchzieht. Den Mix von Robbie Ost finde ich… hmmm… so-so. Der Mann hat schon besseres abgeliefert.
Letzten Endes ist das aber alles Geschmackssache und auch, inwieweit subjektive Erwartungen erfüllt werden.

High gtkriz !

Der Mix vom Paolo ist natürlich auch klasse. Den habe ich nur kaum bis nicht erwähnt, weil er ja nur zwei Dubs dieses speziellen Albums enthält. Fakt ist wohl auch, das Du dir schon allein aus Gründen der Rezession äh quatsch Rezension sämtliche Dubs noch intensiver angehört hast als ich. Eine Melancholie ist mir beim
Mix von Felix Wolter noch gar nicht so bewusst geworden. Außer bei “Babylon The Bandit” und dem Anfang der ganzen Scheibe. Dennoch bin ich mir sicher, das sie da ist, wenn Du sie wahrgenommen hast. Ich habe allerdings auch schon mal durchblicken lassen, das ich mit Melancholie überhaupt keine Verträge habe. Auf diesen Stimmungs-Zustand kann ich komplett verzichten. Ich brauch immer Friede,
Freude, Eierkuchen …… Revolution und Aufstand …….. kurz um, ich brauch “UPLIFTMENT” !!!

Runter komme ich eh immer wieder von alleine …………….. lemmi

Und manchmal komme ich zurück und bin nur noch ganz klein mit Hut.
Irgendwie musste ich mich am vergangenen Wochenende mal wieder so richtig erden. Und da kam mir das Dub Syndicate gerade recht. Und was mir da besonders aufgefallen ist, das auch das Dub Syndicate immer wieder mal sehr melancholische Momente hat. Eigentlich wusste ich das ja auch aber zum Einen habe ich diese Melancholie auch oft einfach als besondere Magie “abgetan” und zum Andereren war ich wohl meistens weit entfernt von einer eigenen, innerern Traurigkeit, so das mir diese Melancholie eben magisch und nicht traurig vorkam.
Ich wollte das nochmal erwähnen, damit nicht alle denken, ich bin ein Unmensch. Melancholie ist vielleicht noch nicht mal direkt mit Traurigkeit gleich-
zusetzen aber es läuft bei mir oft darauf hinaus. Und wer ist schon gern freiwillig
traurig ?!
Heute ist Montag und da bin ich immer sehr “traurig” bzw. melancholisch ;-)

Ok, “the show must go on” ( keine Zeit für Traurigkeit ) ………….. lemmi

Ich würde Melancholie keineswegs mit Traurigkeit gleichstellen… den Herbst würde ich mit Melancholie verbinden – das Fallen der Blättern, den Nebel, die kühlen Temperaturen, das immer weniger werdende Licht. Wenn ich das in eine Gefühlslage überführte, dann wäre es wohl… Melancholie.

Gute Neuigkeiten in Sachen Dub Syndicate: “No Bed of Roses” und “Dub Syndicate Overdubbed bei Rob Smith” (ursprünglich CD1 von “The Rasta Far I”) gibt’s jetzt endlich auch im Stream. Wer weiß, vielleicht kommt da auch noch meine #1: “Acres of Space”.

“……… das Fallen der Blättern, den Nebel, die kühlen Temperaturen, das immer weniger werdende Licht.

Das klingt jetzt aber doch tottraurig ;-) Naja, wir wissen ja, es ist ein Kreislauf und der nächste Frühling kommt bestimmt.

Bei mir ist es ja immer umgekehrt. Ich freue mich, wenn es “Strömelinge” auch mal als CD oder Vinyl gibt. Aber auch das
hebt meine Laune extrem an, denn das worüber Du dich so freust, habe ich alles als CD in meiner Schublade. Hier ist es also mal genau umgekehrt.

Den Satz “ursprünglich von “The Rasta Far I” muss ich aber noch genauer für mich klären ;-)

Bis denne ……………… lemmi

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.