Categories
Review

Lee "Scratch" Perry meets Dubble standard: Dub Cuts from Planet Dub

This release only needs a few words: "Lee Scratch Perry meets Dubble standard: Dub Cuts from Planet Dub“(Echo Beach) is another reuse of the LSP tracks from the great Dubblestandart album "Return from Planet Dub“- appeared together Dubs 2009. The tracks were edited in 2014 Robo Bass HiFi, 2020 has Paolo Baldini a little hand made and now there's an album with alternatives DubVersions. Sometimes they are less, sometimes even less, and they are likely to have been created 12 years ago when the original tapes were mixed. At least this is the impression - because the time was not exactly gracious with the recordings: The sounds seem out of date; the dull mix is ​​reminiscent of the hip-hop and jeep beats from dunnemal. A fresh cell treatment looks different; regardless of this, the ones that have just appeared are Dub Cuts but like their originals milestones in the Oeuvre by Dubble standard

And again the question arises as to whether we really need this release, whose additional sound technical benefits are limited. The news value in and of itself is rather sparse and there are no moments of surprise - but here we have concentrated LSP's tracks on one album for the first time, i.e. freed them from the overflowing opulence of the original release. That results in only eight somewhat rougher ones Dubs (where "Blackboard Jungle - Dub Ruff Cut ”comes up as an exception with extra-violent fecal language), which are accompanied by a touchingly beautiful, black and white artwork. Undoubtedly a memento that hopefully will also be available as a physical sound carrier.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

3 responses to "Lee" Scratch "Perry meets Dubble standard: Dub Cuts from Planet Dub"

This album smells of corpse.
Lee Scratch Perry himself would say in his fecal language: boring than shit.

I'll put it this way, I like them Dubs still and the somewhat rougher mix is ​​quite tingling, even if the sound is overall too muffled for me. The height correction controller urgently needs to help.
Still, I don't need a physical record of it. I am still completely satisfied with the "overflowing opulence of the original release".

And to be honest, for a long time I don't get ……………………………. so long …………………. lemmi

Post a comment

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

Kategorien
Review

Lee „Scratch“ Perry meets Dubblestandart: Dub Cuts from Planet Dub

Dieser Release bedarf nur weniger Worte: „Lee Scratch Perry meets Dubblestandart: Dub Cuts from Planet Dub“ (Echo Beach) ist eine weitere Wiederverwertung der LSP-Tracks vom großartigen Dubblestandart-Album „Return from Planet Dub“ – erschienen samt Dubs 2009. Eine Bearbeitung der Tracks gab’s 2014 durch Robo Bass HiFi, 2020 hat Paolo Baldini ein wenig Hand angelegt und jetzt gibt’s also ein Album mit alternativen Dub-Versionen. Die sind mal weniger, mal noch weniger alternativ und dürften bereits vor 12 Jahren beim Abmischen der Originalbänder entstanden sein. Dieser Eindruck entsteht zumindest – denn die Zeit war nicht gerade gnädig mit den Aufnahmen: Die Sounds wirken veraltet; die dumpfe Abmischung erinnert an die Hiphop- und Jeep Beats von anno dunnemal. Eine Frischzellenkur sieht demnach anders aus; dessen ungeachtet sind die eben erschienenen Dub Cuts aber wie ihre Originale Meilensteine im Oeuvre von Dubblestandart

Und wiederum stellt sich die Frage, ob wir diesen Release, dessen klangtechnischer Zusatznutzen sich in engen Grenzen hält, wirklich brauchen. Der Newswert an und für sich ist eher spärlich und Überraschungsmomente bleiben aus – aber hier haben wir erstmals die Tracks von LSP auf einem Album konzentriert, sprich von der ausufernden Üppigkeit des Original-Releases befreit. Das ergibt dann lediglich acht etwas rauere Dubs (wobei „Blackboard Jungle – Dub Ruff Cut“ als Ausnahme mit extra-heftiger Fäkalsprache aufwartet), die von einer berührend-schönen, in schwarz-weißen gehaltenen Artwork begleitet werden. Zweifellos ein Erinnerungsstück, dass es hoffentlich auch als physischen Tonträger geben wird.

Bewertung: 3.5 von 5.

3 Antworten auf „Lee „Scratch“ Perry meets Dubblestandart: Dub Cuts from Planet Dub“

Ich sags mal so, ich mag die Dubs nach wie vor und die etwas rauere Abmischung ist durchaus prickelnd, auch wenn mir der Sound insgesamt zu dumpf geraten ist. Da muss der HöhenKorrekturRegler dringend nachhelfen.
Dennoch brauche ich davon keinen physischen Tonträger. Ich bin mit der „ausufernden Üppigkeit des Original-Releases“ immer noch voll und ganz zufrieden.

Und lange Weile bekomme ich ehrlich gesagt auch nicht ……………………………. so long …………………. lemmi

Ich mag die Artwork wirklich sehr und finde es würde sich vortrefflich auf einem Vinyl-Cover machen. Deswegen der Wunsch nach einem physischen Tonträger. Ein Poster würd’s freilich auch tun :-)

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.